Confessions from an Armchair Political Junkie by Julie Arduini

Ah, the unofficial end of summer. My kids return to school Monday. The summer shows I DVR’d (The Closer, Rizzoli and Isles) finished airing. Although I don’t think God had my DVR schedule in mind when He inspired Solomon to pen Ecclesiastes, there is a season for everything.

The season full of life right now is politics, and I’m ready. I live in a swing state so I expect not only the phone calls, but the knocks on the door. I’m certain our city will see at least one presidential or vice-presidential candidate. Okay, so I’m not thrilled with the constant television ads, but I love the fervor.

I’m not a professional, but I look forward to the morning talk show analyzing the latest poll, ad, or debate. I don’t like confrontation, but I enjoy discussing the candidates and their latest moves. I silently critique the speeches. When I return to my hometown, my husband knows one or more nights will turn to morning before my mom and I finish chatting about politics. She instilled my love for democracy early and we laugh remembering how I cried in the first grade when my peers chose Jimmy Carter for president. I was always about current events and my opinions on what and who made a good president. Once the election is over and we know who our president is, I’ll try to find their biography at the library, or a book they wrote. Don’t even ask how giddy I was in 2000 with the indecision. It was drama and conflict at its best.

How about you? With the conventions and all that follows, do you look forward or dread the season? Is there a program or debate you tune in, or intentionally tune out to? Whether a politician or not, who would you like to see run for office? What president, living or dead, do you wish you could interview?

photobucket image

 

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Confessions from an Armchair Political Junkie by Julie Arduini

  1. I used to love to discuss politics. I love listening to a well-done debate about politics, but it seems no one is capable of getting into a debate these days without getting into a fight. And these days the stakes seem so high I can’t even face the possibilities. That’s when I need to pray. All of us do. We need God to choose our government, and for Him to do that, we need to pray. And we need to vote.

    Like

  2. Pingback: If My People Pray 2012 by Julie Arduini « Christians Read

  3. Pingback: If My People Pray 2012 by Julie Arduini | Christians Read

Leave a Reply

