Christians Read newsletter – what we’re reading

News from Vicki Hinze

Christians Read Blog is now available on Kindle.  Great News for CHRISTIANS READ readers.  If you prefer to get blogs on your Kindle, the CHRISTIANS READ blog is now available. It’s $.99 per month and you can sign up so posts will automatically forward to your Kindle at:  http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008QEOTGI .  There’s a two-week free trial. Just click the icon.    You can, of course, still read the blog on www.christiansread.com, on WordPress, or on Facebook.

New Love Inspired Suspense series.  Lost, Inc. (www.lost-inc.com) will launch in October.  So far, there are three books written in this series.  The first is Survive the Night.  You can preorder a copy now.  There’s a list of booksellers here.  In December, Christmas Countdown releases, and in February, Torn Loyalties.

I just finished reading Karen Kingsbury’s Just Beyond the Clouds.  A very touching story about families and adults with Downs Syndrome.

What’s on my nightstand?  James Rollins’ Map of Bones.  I’m about three chapters in, and hooked.

Since school starts in a couple weeks here, I’m spending some time with my angels (the grands).  We’ve visited the Pensacola (Florida) Naval Aviation Museum, had Girls Days Out, seeing movies and shopping and doing lunch, and did a day trip to Marianna Caverns.  It’s been a good summer—if too short!

News from Maureen Lang

My newest book released just in July and is titled Bees In The Butterfly Garden, set in New York City during the Gilded Age of the 1880s. Ian Maguire is determined to stop Meg Davenport from following in her father’s footsteps. He was, after all, a thief. But considering Ian learned everything he knows from Meg’s father, he may not be able to convince her otherwise, not even when they both end up over their heads in the biggest heist of Ian’s unlawful career. In trying to gain everything, will they end up losing it all?

I’m happy to share that Bees In The Butterfly Garden has received some wonderful reviews. 4 Stars from Romantic Times, saying: The grandeur of the era is evident in the story, the charming characters, the beautifully descriptive prose and even the cover! And Library Journal said: This character-driven historical set in the American Gilded Age represents Lang (Look to the EastWhisper on the Wind) at her best.

Right now I’m in the revision stage of my next Gilded Age novel, All In Good Time, which will release early spring of 2013, also from Tyndale House. Set in booming 1880s Denver, my hero has built his successful bank on an illegal fortune. And despite my heroine’s own secret, she is determined to do all she can to rescue the many women who’ve found only hard times in the Rocky Mountain state—even if she must get ahead of God’s schedule by garnering a bank loan. Will the secrets of their pasts ruin their future?

As far as what I’m reading now, I’m busy! I’ve been in a classic mood this summer, having just finished Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter and am now taking up My Name Is Asher Lev by Chaim Potok. I’m also reading Kaye Dacus’s upcoming book, Follow The Heart, as well as a debut novel that a friend of mine, Jane Steen, meticulously and boldly self-published, The House of Closed Doors. Lots of wonderful titles to satisfy my reading pleasures!

News from Elizabeth Goddard

Oregon Outback, a four-in-one novella collection, just released in July. The harsh, yet peaceful Oregon Outback molds the lives of four rugged brothers who stumble into love. FBI agent Jonas Love has brought trouble back home, endangering his life and that of an old flame. Cattle rancher Carver Love finds himself falling for the sheriff in the midst of chasing down modern-day rustlers. Thrill-seeker Lucas Love fears nothing—until he meets a beautiful bookkeeper. Justin Love is trailing a fugitive who’s heading too close to home—and one particular lodge keeper. How will God protect these men as they risk their lives to defend the ones they love?

Hearts in the Mist (Heartsong Presents) releases in October. I’m currently working on the second book in a Love Inspired Suspense Series. The first book, Treacherous Skies, releases in December.

I just finished reading When the Smoke Clears by Lynette Eason, and I’m starting on Firethorn by Ronie Kendig. I’m also trying to make a dent on my never-ending TBR pile and have started  Almost Forever by Deborah Raney, and a historical, The Rose of Winslow Street by Elizabeth Camden.

I’m gearing up for another year of home schooling three boys and that includes shopping for curriculum and organizing my office after a big move from Texas to Louisiana.  Never a dull moment.

News from Hannah Alexander

Right now I’m getting ready to read Secretly Smitten by Colleen Coble, Diann Hunt, Kristin Billerbeck and Denise Hunter. I’m also reading two books for review, but none of them are available right now, so shouldn’t give the titles of them.

No exciting news for me except we’re getting ready to start building Mel’s new clinic. It’ll be an exciting change from ER to family practice.

News from Camy Tang

I’m writing a few books for some Guideposts series (Patchwork Mysteries, Miracles of Marble Cove, and Secrets of Mary’s Bookshop). I never realized how fun cozy mysteries are to write until I started writing them for Guideposts. Now I love them!

I’m also gearing up for the release of the second book in my Protection for Hire series, A Dangerous Stage, which is out in November. I honestly think A Dangerous Stage is one of the best books I’ve ever written, and I really felt God’s hand on me as I wrote some key scenes in the book. I’m praying He uses the book to touch the readers He wants to reach!

I just finished Angel Eyes, a Christian young adult novel by Shannon Dittemore. It was like a God-centered mix of Twilight and This Present Darkness by Frank Peretti, and I think Christian teens will love it.

About Camy Tang/Camille Elliot

Camy writes romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com and http://www.camilleelliot.com to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.
This entry was posted in Camy Tang, Elizabeth Goddard, Hannah Alexander, Maureen Lang, Vicki Hinze. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Christians Read newsletter – what we’re reading

  1. cheap skin says:

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog readers have complained about my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this issue?

    Like

  2. Hi! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to
    him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Just desire to say your article is as astounding. The clearness to your post is simply cool
    and that i can think you’re knowledgeable in this subject. Well with your permission let me to clutch your RSS feed to keep updated with impending post. Thank you one million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

    Like

  4. I almost never leave comments, but after reading a few of the remarks on this page Christians Read newsletter –
    what were reading | Christians Read. I do have a couple of questions
    for you if it’s allright. Is it only me or do some of these remarks come across as if they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional online sites, I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post.

    Could you post a list of all of all your public pages like your twitter feed, Facebook
    page or linkedin profile?

    Like

  5. Stacey says:

    Thank you for another great article. The place else could anyone get that kind of information in
    such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the search for
    such info.

    Like

  6. Wow, that’s what I was searching for, what a data! existing here
    at this blog, thanks admin of this web page.

    Like

  7. We are a group of volunteers and opening a brand new
    scheme in our community. Your web site provided us
    with useful information to work on. You have done a formidable task and our whole community
    can be thankful to you.

    Like

  8. Pedro says:

    It’s actually a great and useful piece of info. I am satisfied that you just shared this helpful
    information with us. Please keep us up to date like this.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  9. Bernadette says:

    Yes! Finally something about world news zimbabwe.

    Like

  10. Howdy terrific blog! Does running a blog
    such as this require a massive amount work? I have
    absolutely no expertise in computer programming however I
    had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, should you have any recommendations or
    tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject however I simply had to ask.
    Cheers!

    Like

    • Vicki Hinze says:

      It does require a lot of work, but it’s worth it. Recommendations:
      1. Choose a theme or topic and blog on that theme or topic. Then people know what to expect.
      2. Blog regularly. Whether once a month or daily, try your best to be consistent so people know when to expect new posts.
      3. Play fair with your readers. Don’t tease or just think about what you get from blogging. Put your readers first and think about what you can give them. That’s most importance–that respect.

      Good luck with your blog!

      Blessings,

      Vicki

      Like

Leave a Reply

