My Son’s Girlfriend is a Reading Machine by James L. Rubart

She is.

This past weekend she, my son, and two other couples (friends of theirs) joined my wife and I at a lake house. We took them tubing, they went putt putt golfing, played poker where the first one out of chips had to go jump in the lake at midnight, went out to dinner, etc.

Busy weekend.

But my son’s girlfriend still had time to finish two thick books. How? Not sure. But I have an idea.

Every spare moment she’s picking up her book. Getting ready to play poker? She helped, then picked up her book and for three minutes.

The gang is watching a movie she’s already seen? She’s reading instead.

Set her alarm to get up early even though she’d been up late the night before.

It makes me realize I have to be more intentional about my reading. Grab the seconds while I can. Carve out the time. And not feel guilty when I’m reading. See, I’m in a family of non-readers. My son took honors English, got an A and didn’t read any of the books the class assigned (a fact he’s somewhat proud of).

He does read my novels, but not much else—although his girlfriend is having a positive effect and he does have a goal to read more this year. Cool!

But while my other son and my wife read magazines, and the occasional book, describing reading as a passion for them would be far from accurate.

With the above in mind, do you come from a family of readers or non-readers. If your family are nonners, how do you find time to read where you don’t feel like you’re taking time away from them?

And if you are a lean, mean, reading machine, where do you find time to get all those tomes finished?

Gotta go, my son’s girlfriend wants me to find her another book.

About James L. Rubart

Husband, Dad, Author, Speaker
This entry was posted in Honored Alumni, James L. Rubart, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Son’s Girlfriend is a Reading Machine by James L. Rubart

  1. Jim,

    I’m proud to say I come from a family of readers (at least my parents were – not so sure about my siblings). Because of that, I spent all of my free time as a kid reading, reading, reading. I took a break from reading fiction somewhere between leaving college and having my children, but now I do the same as your son’s girlfriend. I carry a book with me everywhere I go and in my spare moments, I read, read, read. 🙂 I wish I was as fast as she is, but I take a bit longer to get through a book. Somewhere around a week. Unless I sit and read for two days in a row. And do nothing else.

    Like

  2. Two days of reading and nothing else sounds great!

    Like

  3. skstiles612 says:

    I come from a family of readers. My son doesn’t read much. When my daughter finds time in her busy schedule she reads. She just borrowed 2 books from me. I am a voracious reader. I get cranky when I don’t get my reading fix. With no other obligations (summer time) I can put away 2-5 books in a day. My family (husband and mother) leave me alone to read. My mother gets books from me on a regular basis. My husband’s reading is limited to technical items. Once school starts I will have to fit it in where I can. During school my reading drops to 1-5 books a week. I am trying to establish a day during the week where we have SSR for students to read what they want. I fight administration every year for this, but usually win.

    Like

  4. Maureen Lang says:

    You’ve just described my daughter, Jim. Last year she read just short of 365 books – a book a day, and this year she’s poised to read nearly as many. She’s a bit behind because of planning her wedding and taking a six week honeymoon. 🙂
    She’s a very fast reader and has an hour bus ride to work in the morning and evening, plus an hour for lunch. For her, three hours a day and then bedtime is enough to finish an entire book. I only wish I could read that fast! The good news for me is that she’s a great resource to find something new, since she knows my tastes and can tell me in advance if she thinks I’ll like something or not.

    Like

  5. I’m jealous, Maureen! I’m such a slllllllooooooooooooooooowwwwww reader!

    Like

Leave a Reply

