What Vicki Said-by Hannah Alexander

Our beloved Vicki Hinze spoke from her heart yesterday when she blogged about the tragedy in Colorado. I appreciate the passion of her spirit, and her ability to do as an excellent novelist would do by identifying with those victims of the massacre. I think it’s vital that those of us in other states are capable of grieving the loss of those people who were killed and injured, because it could have been us. Situations come into play all the time that could destroy the loved ones around us if we aren’t diligent. There is evil in this world, and it isn’t a crime to watch for this evil and do something about it when we do see it.

I’ve always said that there is good, and there is evil, and there is nothing else. Our pastor’s sermon on Sunday morning made me question my own motives about the actions I take daily. Do I really need to be online that many hours a day, or am I addicted to social networking? Shouldn’t I be working on the book this blog is meant to eventually showcase? Why gain the attention of all two of my readers when I’m not completing the next book due out in the marketplace? And why am I writing? To share God’s love with others, or to show off my own talent?

What was the motive of the killer in Colorado? What was going on in his head, and why wasn’t he helped? And why was his illness allowed to get so far that he became capable of murder? I’m not exonerating the serial killer, I’m saying he had good and evil at his hands, and he chose evil.

I hope I don’t follow down that path by making the wrong choices. May I hesitate before making a choice tomorrow that might lead me in the wrong direction, and if I make the wrong choice, may God guide me back to where I belong. May we all seek God’s will in our choices each day, and may we be a part of the answer, not a part of the problem.

 

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized, Vicki Hinze. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

