Mean Girls–By Hannah Alexander

California Sunset
by Eugene Patterson

This picture reminds me of the good old days that seemed like a different lifetime. I was young…so very young, and so clueless about everything. Can you imagine a child of eight whose best friend was her horse and who didn’t know what gossip was? Well, I didn’t. And living in peaceful Simi Valley, California, where I was in church every time the doors opened for worship or Bible study, and whose other best friends were always there with her in church, I remained happily ignorant. I discovered the hard way that it would behoove me to learn a little more about the ways of the world, if for no other reason than to avoid getting beaten up by mean girls and getting called into the PRINCIPAL’S OFFICE.

It started innocently enough. A girl I knew in elementary school came running up to me, excited, and whispered in my ear, “Cheryl, {this was long before I chose my pen name} did you know Kathy is going to Juvie? Spread it around!” Unfortunately, I had no idea what Juvie was. Some kind of weird party? So I did what I was told and let others know about Kathy’s great news. I wondered if I would ever get to be invited to Juvie.

I found out at the end of the day as we were getting on the bus–the one Kathy and her two hench girls rode with me–that I had been tricked by Kathy’s “friend” to spread the rumor about juvie, which turned out to be a bad place where troublemakers went. I realized she belonged in this place of detention, especially since she and her two friends threatened to kill me when we got off at the bus stop.

On the bus, I sat down beside a friend of mine, Beth. She seemed happy for my company, despite the fact that I was to die soon. Beth didn’t have a lot of friends, simply because she was extremely overweight. You know how kids can be. And you know how kids without many friends can be–faithful to the friends they do have. I told Beth how frightened I was. We talked about it most of the way to our bus stop. She was worried and didn’t want to leave me alone, but I bravely told her I would be okay. She reluctantly walked to her mother’s car and got in.

I, on the other hand, took one look at the gang of three angry, scary looking girls waiting for me on the street, and I took off running. They followed. At least I got my exercise that  day. They did, too, because they didn’t want to give up, and they had apparently exercised more than I. They got closer within a few blocks, shouting threats and scaring me to the point that I’d have loved to’ve seen a girls’ restroom nearby. I nearly didn’t need one when a loud horn sounded behind us and an angry lady stuck her head out and yelled at the girls chasing me. She was Beth’s mom. Beth, my loyal friend, rescued me that day.

Beth’s mom made sure I made it safely home–which was out in the country, far from the housing complex where I met the bus every morning.

I learned a lesson that day. Several, actually. Rumors are not good, especially if you don’t know anything about them. If you want to spread good news, make sure it’s good. Also, make friends who may not be popular with the popular crowd, because popularity for sure isn’t what it’s made out to be. That works in adulthood, too. Look past the outer layer of a person. Look past the prickly parts that might scare others away. Look into the heart, and give them time to come out of their shell. You may well find your most loyal friendships in just that way.

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mean Girls–By Hannah Alexander

  1. Marianne says:

    Thanks, Cheryl for sharing your memories/experiences. Ignorance is not bliss.

    Like

Leave a Reply

