Dangerous Situations

I’ve been keeping up with the horror our friends in Colorado are going through with the impending fire, and my prayers are with them often during the day. Since I grew up in Southern California in fire area, I remember well the flick of hot flames coming down the mountains toward our house, the heroism of the firemen who weren’t afraid to get close enough to those flames to save our home. My uncle was one of those heroes who served his county well during the years he was a fireman and battalion chief. These people are real heroes.

I recall other times in my life when I was in a dangerous situation, such as the night I sat with my friends in a hometown parking lot–we cruised back in those days in our small towns. One stranger made his way into our midst, and he was high on PCP. He plunged his fist through someone’s pickup truck side window before the driver could get away. He caught me glaring at him and came over to the car where I was sitting. I’ve never put up with bullies, and even though I was only 16–or perhaps BECAUSE I was only 16–I didn’t back down when he started in on me. My friend drove the car away–with me in it–before the man could hurt me.

Then there was the time Mel and I were hiking the slick-rock areas in Utah and I started to fall from a thirty-foot height  into the rocks. Mel didn’t think before jumping behind me and pressing me back to safety against the rock wall. Mel hates spiders, but he isn’t afraid of heights. I know he saved my life that day.

I’ve been in danger many times throughout my life–such as the time we found a rattlesnake in my bedroom, or the time I nearly stepped on a copperhead, or was rear-ended by a vehicle traveling 55 mph when I was stopped in traffic. I’m sure you can recall many of the same kinds of incidents. I have no doubt that God was there watching each time. What happened always happened for a reason, I  believe, trite as that sounds. I’m trusting God will also direct individuals fighting the fires in Colorado, or the families deciding whether or not to leave for safety.

I’d love to read about the times you faced danger, and how you handled it. There is an innate fear of danger built within us to protect us from danger. We also have an innate sense of courage for those times when it’s needed. When did you last experience either?

 

 

 

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dangerous Situations

  1. Maureen Lang says:

    Sounds like you’ve been keeping your guardian angel pretty busy!

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

