Top Ten Reading Spots

I’ve been a story-lover since I was very young, when my mother used to make up bedtime stories for my sister and me. I think my first passion for actual reading, though, was inspired by the Nancy Drew series. Although I would happily receive as gifts one or two of these books for Christmas or a birthday, my friend Kathleen possessed the entire set. Every time a new one came out she added it to this wonderful shelf in her bedroom. I was in awe!

Related to this is one of my daughter’s favorite stories that I’ve told about myself (and of course it’s embarrassing). I would ride my bike over to Kathleen’s house and borrow a book or two from her collection. On one particular day I absolutely could not wait to dive in to Nancy Drew’s latest adventure. So, holding the handlebars of my bike with one hand, I turned to the first page with my other and, that’s right, I started reading—only to run my bike smack into a parked car. Bam! Over we went, me and Nancy, hitting the pavement. Nothing was damaged, not me or the book or my bike or even the car, but I admit I looked over my shoulder a few times to see if anyone had witnessed my stupidity. Then I slipped the books into my basket where they belonged and made for home where I properly devoured them.

So today I thought I’d make a list of the top ten places to read. Obviously on a moving bike didn’t make the list. 🙂 Here are my picks, in order of preference. See if you share any, or would like to add one:

In bed

On the couch

In a favorite chair

On a lawn chair in the yard

On a plane

On the beach

On a park bench (nice weather)

In the car (not recommended for those prone to motion sickness)

In the library

In a bookstore

I would have added in the bath tub (not recommended for e-readers!) but I’m strictly a shower person.

What about you? Have I missed a spot you like to claim as your reading nook?

About Maureen Lang

Author of a dozen novels, Maureen Lang has won the Selah Award, a Holt Medallion, FHL's Reader's Choice Award, and been a finalist in such contests as the Christy, the Rita, the Carol, Book Buyer's Best, and others. Before publication she was the recipient of a Golden Heart and a Genesis (then called the Noble Theme). She resides with her husband and kids in the Chicago area. Titles by Maureen Lang All In Good Time Bees In The Butterfly Garden Springtime Of The Spirit Whisper On The Wind Look To The East My Sister Dilly On Sparrow Hill The Oak Leaves Remember Me Pieces Of Silver
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top Ten Reading Spots

  1. Grace Greene says:

    I know someone who reads while they are walking. I’m not that daring, but I’ll read almost anywhere my body is stationary. At the kitchen table while eating breakfast. At a restaurant if I’m dining by myself. And I’ll read whatever is available, whether it’s a cereal box or yellow warning labels. Some of those warning labels are pretty amazing, in fact.

    Fun post. Thanks! Grace

    Like

    • Maureen Lang says:

      Your comments remind me of taking my mom to the museum with my kids – she used to read every single placard. Goodness, it took forever! Now I realize she only did this once her own children were grown. She could never do that when we were little – and until my own kids are out the door, I probably won’t be able to indulge in that delight, either.

      Like

  2. I even read shampoo bottle labels in the shower. We know we’re readers, don’t we? LOL

    Like

  3. Beth Goddard says:

    I wrote on a similar topic with my Ten Things that go Well with a Good Book. Instead of just places I added things like tea or coffee or popcorn or M&M’s. I think! I can’t remember everything I put in there. Also, some people enjoy reading in a hot bubble bath. Oh and I know some people read on the treadmill. I did that for a while, but I had to walk VERY slowly. So then I got my recumbent exercise bike–which goes better with your post–and I could ride the bike, get exercise and READ. I went through a lot of books that way. Wow. . .I wish I had that back now. LOL

    Like

    • Maureen Lang says:

      That’s what I need, a recumbent exercise bike! I didn’t even know they existed, although my girlfriend who had a stroke a few years ago has a specially adapted (outdoor) bike that resembles a recumbent bike – they’re wonderful!

      It would be great to get some exercise while reading – maybe I’d be more active! I’ve really enjoyed listening to audio books on my walks with the dog. The time just flies right by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

