The Best Job in the World by Elizabeth Goddard

In my writing career I’ve always juggled several deadlines at the same time. Sometimes writing more than one book at a time has been overwhelming. There are days when I wish I had a week without a deadline niggling at the back of my mind. Other days, like today, I remind myself I have the best job in the world.

I get to dream all day long.

So, today I’m praising God that He’s blessed me with this dream to write books in the first place, and He’s made that dream come true. In a way, you could say I get to live my life vicariously through my characters. Whatever I have an interest in knowing more about, or perhaps even doing but I’m unable to do, I can create characters to do these things for me.

My husband often tells me I live in another world. That’s a huge exaggeration, of course. Maybe I have one foot in each world—my story world and my real world. But that’s not so different than anyone who has a job.

Regardless, creating characters and conflict and the setting of my choice allows me to use my imagination and travel to new places without leaving my home.  This is the best job in the world.

What would your favorite job be?

What are other interesting jobs you would love to read about in a novel?

Elizabeth Goddard is the award-winning author of Oregon Outback, a four-in-one novella collection releasing from Barbour in July.  Beth has a lot of fun in this one, living life through her characters.

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best Job in the World by Elizabeth Goddard

  1. Maureen Lang says:

    I’m with you, Beth! Writing really is the best job in the world! Now if only that were all we had to do…

    Like

  2. bethrachg says:

    I posted a reply yesterday but it didn’t show up. That’s the problem isn’t it–there is so much left to do after the job. I’m overwhelmed much of the time and even today have to remember to just remain calm. Breathe in. Breathe out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

