Storytelling by Maureen Lang

Until the other day, I had no idea storytellers had national conventions. A friend of mine, a librarian, attended one and described to me what sounded similar to a writer’s conference. Workshops, speakers, opportunities to practice and improve their craft. The more outgoing among them did what the more outgoing among writers do, too. Stayed up until 4 a.m. talking to those of like mind.

Sounds like fun, doesn’t it? A community of people with a passion getting together to learn, improve, share and deepen their enjoyment of what brought them together to begin with.

I wished I could attend such a thing, or at least read survey results about the various ways they came to love books and storytelling.

Like many of us who love books, the art of storytelling became a reality to me when I was very young. My mother would read books to my sister and I, but some of my favorite stories were the ones she made up. She would sit between the two of us and weave a story between her imagination and ours. We’d sit there, enthralled. Stories of a little girl who was looking forward to Christmas, but met someone whose family didn’t have enough money to welcome the holiday. How could she help them? Or about two little girls who planted peach trees in their yard and had to wait, wait, wait until it grew. Or a fish whose mommy fish told him never to eat a worm attached to a string. All stories that taught us values: generosity, patience, obedience to rules that protected us.

It think that’s why stories having deeper meaning are among my favorites today!

I’m also reminded of the Bible . . . of how Jesus told stories for the same reason my mother did, to teach in a way that would be easy for us to understand and remember. The Bible is full of examples about real people, too, so we can turn to it for guidance in our lives today.

I’m not sure there’s anything more powerful than storytelling. I’m feeling especially blessed that I get to spend most of my days doing this very thing.

About Maureen Lang

Author of a dozen novels, Maureen Lang has won the Selah Award, a Holt Medallion, FHL's Reader's Choice Award, and been a finalist in such contests as the Christy, the Rita, the Carol, Book Buyer's Best, and others. Before publication she was the recipient of a Golden Heart and a Genesis (then called the Noble Theme). She resides with her husband and kids in the Chicago area. Titles by Maureen Lang All In Good Time Bees In The Butterfly Garden Springtime Of The Spirit Whisper On The Wind Look To The East My Sister Dilly On Sparrow Hill The Oak Leaves Remember Me Pieces Of Silver
This entry was posted in Maureen Lang, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Storytelling by Maureen Lang

  1. Pingback: Home Peach Home « Hey Klacenklai

  2. bethrachg says:

    That’s interesting. I’ve never heard of such a thing either. Do you plan to attend a conference?

    Like

    • Maureen Lang says:

      I hadn’t really planned to attend a storyteller’s conference – but I’d probably consider it if I wrote children’s books and did more public speaking. I believe a number of children’s authors were there, doing readings – a perfect venue! What could be better than having librarians reading their books all across the country?

      Like

Leave a Reply

