Living Water…Accept No Substitutes by Lynette Sowell

I don’t have to tell you that getting lost in a book is a great source of joy to readers (and writers). I feel sorry for people who never learned the skill of letting a book pull their imagination along through space and time.

However, I have had to remind myself that although I love the power of a good story, it won’t satisfy deep longings in my heart. Maybe I’m going through a dry spell, my faith is challenged yet parched. A book might, oh, provide a welcome distraction for a short period of time. I might have some good laughs and my mood might lighten for a time, but that’s simply a Band-Aid over a deeper problem.

I might just need some alone time with God, with my notebook and pen and my Bible, and try some of that liquid refreshment that soothes a parched spirit. Better than hanging out with friends or looking for that great shopping deal. After a while those things don’t nourish and refresh.

After I remind myself about finding some liquid nourishment for my spirit, I crack upone the Bible and let the words pour out. Here’s some of my favorite ones, written by King David over 2,000 years ago.

You, God, are my God,

earnestly I seek you;
I thirst for you,
my whole being longs for you,
in a dry and parched land
where there is no water.

I have seen you in the sanctuary
and beheld your power and your glory.
Because your love is better than life,
my lips will glorify you.
I will praise you as long as I live,
and in your name I will lift up my hands.
I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods;
with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

On my bed I remember you;
I think of you through the watches of the night.
Because you are my help,
I sing in the shadow of your wings.
I cling to you;
your right hand upholds me.

Now isn’t that refreshing, reading words written over two thousand years ago by a man who felt like he was in the desert? Yet he knew where to go, where to put his focus. Now that’s refreshing. He learned to dip into that Living Water.

This entry was posted in Honored Alumni, Lynette Sowell, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Living Water…Accept No Substitutes by Lynette Sowell

  1. Maureen Lang says:

    Beautiful post, Lynette! And so very true. Thanks for the reminder to go to the source of comfort rather than an imitation.

    Like

  2. juliearduini says:

    What a great reminder. How often my nose is deep in a how-to book when the very best writing is in the greatest Book of all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

