Books in a Series: Print, Digital, or Library– Which Format Do You Choose? by Elizabeth Goddard

On my last post I mentioned I’d started reading THE HUNGER GAMES so that I could read it before seeing the movie. I still haven’t seen the movie but I’m hoping to remedy that today. I mentioned, too, that this story isn’t the usual kind that I read—it’s not a romance, romantic suspense/thriller, or a historical romance. That being the case, I hated the ending because it wasn’t a HEA (happily ever after). That meant, of course, that I had to read the next book. When I looked it up on Amazon, I discovered the Kindle Owners Lending Library so figured I’d try that for this book. I’d already purchased the hard copy of the first book.

As Jim Rubart mentioned in his post this week, when you’re writing, it’s tough to find time to read, but I just turned in a book to my publisher this week and that means instead of writing and reading for endorsements or judging contests, I can get in some extra reading for pleasure.

Okay. So finished the second book, CATCHING FIRE, and now I have to know how this series ends because the book ending wasn’t a book ending—it was a series hook—so I figure I’ll just go right into the reading the next book by downloading from the Kindle Owners Lending Library again and that’s when I discover the CATCH.

I can’t rent another book from the Kindle Owners Lending Library because I can only rent one book a month! What a great marketing hook , right? Of course I immediately buy the third book, MOCKINGJAY. That’s fine, too, because I want to support authors, the blood, sweat and tears they put into writing a novel. I only meant to try the Kindle library anyway.

In the end, that means for this series of books I own the hard copy of the first book, I own nothing of the second book, and now I own the third book in digital format. I have to admit I’m a little frustrated by this–owning various forms of this series seems discombobulating to me.

There are several books that I own both digitally and in print copy. Do you have a collage of book formats?

Blessings!

Beth

(I’m still reading MOCKINGJAY and I’ll let you know how I feel about the ending next time.)

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books in a Series: Print, Digital, or Library– Which Format Do You Choose? by Elizabeth Goddard

  1. Maureen Lang says:

    I purchased the Hunger Games series for my son, who wanted to have all three books on his shelf (my daughter is the same way . . . somehow books in a series, for them, need to be all neatly lined up on their shelves).

    For me, though, at least with fiction, either print or electronic works. When I’m reading non-fiction, I prefer the actual book so I can flip through it, use the index more easily, and so on. I did read a non-fiction memoir that had a lot of foreign terms in it and it was kind of a chore because of that – only to learn at the end of the book there was a wonderfully helpful glossary of terms. Had I known it was there, it would have helped a lot while reading the book.

    With fiction, the only think I miss in an electronic version is being able to look at the cover. I have a Kindle Fire now, so the cover does show up in lovely color, but it’s still not the same…

    Like

  2. I agree with Maureen. I read the first two in hardcover, and Mockingjay awaits via Kindle. My Kindle is nine pages full, 90% fiction. I prefer non-fiction in actual book format so I can take notes, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

