Poll: ebooks, likey or no likey?

Camy here, with a few questions for you guys, especially if you are under the age of 18 or if a person under the age of 18 lives in your house.

Now, I live in a small house. Considering it’s just me, Captain Caffeine, and my dog Snickers, it’s a fine size for our family, but it’s a far cry from my GRAND dreams of a humongous personal library with window seats and a fireplace and a massive teakwood desk where I can write to my heart’s content.

Since I have limited space for books (and in recent years, my knitting yarn stash which has grown like a pack of Tribbles), I LOVE EBOOKS. Hard disk space takes up less square footage than bookshelves.

I get each month’s Love Inspired Suspense books on ebook at BarnesandNoble.com. I also can indulge my historical romance obsession since many of my favorite authors—and new authors, too—have books available as ebooks.

Since the ebooks end up being cheaper than print books (not to mention all the free ebooks available weekly), I can try new authors without wincing at how much it hits my wallet. This has been really cool because often I wouldn’t want to try a new author because I didn’t want to spend the money. But now that the ebook is cheaper, I can indulge myself a bit more often.

I am also all for instant gratification, so I love how I can buy a novel and start reading it within a few minutes. It just doesn’t get any better than that!

I have a Nook, which I’m really happy with, but I also read some of my books on my computer because the screen is bigger, or while I’m writing, I can open an ebook I bought for research. I love my Nook because I can sit and eat or knit or whatever while I read–I only have to hit a button to turn the page, and I don’t need a book weight to hold a paperback book open.

I am also a bit ashamed to admit that I have increased the font on my ebooks in the past year or so. 😛 Ahhh old age, combined with a genetic propensity for near sightedness so bad I’m almost blind. Thanks, Mom and Dad!

I’m also relieved that my books are all available as ebooks, because my out of print books aren’t in Walmart or many of the major bookstores anymore (although you can sometimes still order print copies from Amazon).

Click the cover to buy my Protection for Hire ebook!

 

(Okay, self-promotional stint is over.)

So here are my questions for you guys:

1) Do you like ebooks?

2) How often do you buy ebooks or borrow them from the library (if your library has that function)?

3) What do you read ebooks on, your computer? PDA? iPod Touch or iPad? Kindle or Nook or Sony eReader or something else?

And if you’re a teen or if you (barely) acknowledge that you have birthed a child who is now a teen, please let me know. I’m kind of curious to see how many teenagers read ebooks.

Camy Tang writes romance with a kick of wasabi. Out now is the first book in her new series, Protection for Hire, which is a cross between Stephanie Plum and The Joy Luck Club. She is a staff worker for her church youth group, and leads one of the worship teams for Sunday service. On her blog, she ponders frivolous things like knitting, running, dogs, and Asiana. Visit her website to sign up for her quarterly newsletter.

About Camy Tang/Camille Elliot

Camy writes romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com and http://www.camilleelliot.com to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.
This entry was posted in Camy Tang, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Poll: ebooks, likey or no likey?

  1. I read more “real” books than I do Ebooks, but I LOVE my Kindle!! I use it more for when I am traveling than here at home.

    My teens have borrowed my Kindle. I think if they could have their own Kindles, then they would be happier with Ebooks. Like you say, we get a TON of FREE books which is awesome!! And my teens are AVID readers (we say that we devour books!) 🙂 For now, we mostly buy or borrow from the library the books they read. Oh.. we have been able to get a ton of classics and that’s mostly what my oldest teen has read on my Kindle.

    Our library does have the borrowing function, but we have yet to use it. I find that it is hard to figure out what books they have and if I really want to borrow them. Maybe one day.

    Like

  2. William kelley says:

    1) Do you like ebooks?
    Love them?

    2) How often do you buy ebooks or borrow them from the library (if your library has that function)?

    Once a month at least, or when you publish something.

    3) What do you read ebooks on, your computer? PDA? iPod Touch or iPad? Kindle or Nook or Sony eReader or something else?

    Usually now I read on my Kindle fire. It is awesome! Also on my I touch and on occasion my netbook

    Like

  3. 1) Do you like ebooks?

    Yes, to a certain extent. Love the fact I can carry as many as I want onto a plane. Love that I can read them anywhere I go. But if I really like a book, I want it on my shelf.

    2) How often do you buy ebooks or borrow them from the library (if your library has that function)?

    Not often. Haven’t borrowed from the library.

    3) What do you read ebooks on, your computer? PDA? iPod Touch or iPad? Kindle or Nook or Sony eReader or something else?

    I read them on my iPhone. And I can relate about the eye thing!

    Like

  4. Michelle says:

    I like ebooks and am slowly working up to using my Kindle more. For now though, I read traditional books, probably one book a day. I borrow ebooks maybe once a month, primarily I get e-books from amazon. My teen son doesn’t like the Kindle either and reads traditional books. I don’t think he’s normal! My daughter is in her 20’s and she reads on the Kindle and traditional books. She too, prefers traditional books but she works 2 jobs and is going to law school full time so the Kindle works for her to read on the run.

    Like

  5. Thanks Ladette! I appreciate you telling me your kids’ preferences. 🙂 I heard that borrowing ebooks from the library is both easy and hard. Whatever that means. I think you need to use Adobe Digital Editions program (it’s free) or some other special program on your computer, and it needs to be side loaded onto your Kindle.

    Aw, thanks William! 🙂 How do you like your Kindle Fire? Even though I love my Nook, since I have so many ebooks only on Kindle I was considering getting a Kindle, too.

    Jim, have you tried reading ebooks on an ereader or the iPad? I’ve found I prefer that over my iPhone since the screen is so dang small.

    Thanks for the input, Michelle! I’m wondering if your kids aren’t unusual, and if most teens and twenty-somethings still prefer print books like their parents despite the influx of technology.

    Like

  6. ccgevry says:

    Don’t worry, Camy, I increase the font on my e-books too. I love my Kindle. I never thought I would enjoy it as much as I do. Most times I request review copies for my Kindle instead of printed books. I have no room left for printed, even with the regular donations I make.

    I don’t buy e-books very often because I am backed up with reading material right now, but if I do plunk down money, it’s from an author I know well or a friend’s book. I have over 200 freebies on my Kindle, so why should I keep spending money?

    I have a son who is 24 that reads books on his phone–I could never do that, but both of my girls (10 & 8) read books on my older Kindle. When I am in the schools–we’re talking grades 2 through 5–I see tons of devices out there.

    Like

  7. camytang says:

    Thanks for your input, Cheryl! Honestly, I would love to see kids use more devices to read. I’ve seen kids with their overloaded backpacks going to school and think, wouldn’t it be better to have a digital textbook?

    Like

    • I recently wrote an article on that topic, Camy. My 10-year-old’s backpack weighs 21 pounds. Why? Because her teacher insists upon having tables instead of desks and the school has no lockers, so she is forced to carry everything back and forth. It’s awful. I would love to see the school district embrace digital textbooks.

      Like

  8. camytang says:

    TWENTY ONE POUNDS????? HOLY COW THAT’S HORRIBLE! I hope it’s a rolling backback because your poor child will get a shoulder injury!

    Like

  9. ccgevry says:

    No rolling backpacks allowed on the bus because it’s dangerous and they don’t want kids to get hurt. I guess carrying a heavy backpack doesn’t cause injuries in their world. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

