SMALL THINGS

SMALL THINGS       

             January!

            A new year. A time of new beginnings.

            That gives some people an incentive to start over, turn over a new leaf, make resolutions. Others have tried that and failed so often, the idea is daunting. Why bother?

            We know the scripture says, “I can do all things through Christ, who gives me strength.”

            I don’t argue with that. I know Jesus can do things perfectly, but I either can’t or don’t do my part. Sometimes other things get in the way of my goals. The negative thought occurred to me that “I can do SMALL THINGS.”

            The more I thought about it, the more I realized that may be the answer to times of anxiety, feeling… dejected, depressed, like a failure and what’s the use of trying.

            There’s a verse that says, “He who is faithful in little, will be faithful in much.”

            We are admonished to grow in faith—grow in our Christian walk.

            Maybe I’ll never be the most popular, the most intelligent, the most successful. But I can love.

            What did Jesus say? “Love one another.”

            What did Paul write? “There are three things: faith, hope and love. The greatest is love.”

            Love is…great?

            Not…small?

            Then yes, I can do something great. I can love.

            We might say, “Well, those around me aren’t that lovable?”

What is love? I’ve always heard that “love is action.” A fine preacher said it this way: “Love your way to feeling.”

            I like what Jeanne Bice said, “No one can make a brand new start. Anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.”

            And that can be done anytime… not just in January.

            So, although I’m working on my resolutions, and did take enough stuff out of my closet to turn it into a Prayer Closet for those most burdensome prayers, I want to make a different resolution… start making a brand new ending.

            Love is a small thing to do. But it’s so great.

 

About yvon63

Author of 50 novels. Director of Blue Ridge Christian "Autumn in the Mountains" Novelist Retreat held annually in October, in the panoramic mountains of western North Carolina.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

