Pray it Forward by Hannah Alexander

Just a short note today, because it is, after all, the week before Christmas and our poor postal carrier had to make three rounds the other day carrying Christmas packages from Harry and David and Figis and such, singing “hohoho” as he went. It reminded me I hadn’t given him his Christmas envelope this year. And it reminded me I hadn’t purchased any gifts this year, that I’ve sent no cards, no food, nothing. For us, this is not a year for that, so we’re having to bow out.

I have, however, discovered something I’m sure everyone in the Christian realm already knew–no matter what we can or cannot do for others at Christmas, I can pray for that jolly postal carrier who works long hours and smiles when I know he’s tired. Every time I receive mail, I can pray for him on his route. Getting the mail is a good reminder. That still doesn’t mean I’m forgetting his Christmas envelope. No way. He earns more than he ever gets.

I have a lot of friends online, and I email them a lot. When they email requests for prayer, I pray immediately so I won’t forget, but then after that I forget. So when they do send a request, I ask them to please update me so I can pray again. The same goes for those who ask me in person for prayer–I pray right then, because as a pastor’s wife once told me, if I promise to pray and then wait until later and forget, I’ve lied in the presence of God. This helps me to ask often for prayer, because we need those prayers so very much, especially during this season when it seems emotions can go low and money matters even lower for some of us, and memories aren’t always the best.

I have a list of prayer requests above the kitchen sink so that when I’m standing there looking for something to read while I’m working (doesn’t everyone do that?) I can pray for those on the list. Something else that helps me to remember to pray is the Holy Spirit. Our pastor promises that as the Spirit brings remembrance, he would pray for those who asked.

So don’t just request prayer one time and forget to update those who pray for you. If I love you enough to pray for you, I love you enough to want an update, but many of us often have so many friends it’s difficult to keep all those needs and requests lined up with the particular friend. Update often, don’t forget to as for prayer over and over, because those who pray for your are also blessed with the praying.

Merry Christmas from Hannah Alexander

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pray it Forward by Hannah Alexander

  1. jelowder says:

    Hannah, it’s nice to know that despite being in what sounds like a tough season of life, that you still have a generous heart. You’re reflecting Proverbs 4:23: “Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.”

    And your thoughts on prayer are spot on. I also wonder if we don’t toss out, “I’ll be praying for you!” much in the same way we casually say, “Hey, have a great day!” I know I’ve been guilty of this too many times (especially at church!) and I’m now making sure I’m true to my word.

    I also forget that prayer is powerful and is organic. It’s not only a magnificent means to connect deeply with God, Christ and the Holy Spirit, but is OUR blessing in that we get to be a part of God’s work AND behold how he works (which in turn strengthens our faith and zeal to pray more.)

    And in the spirit of your blog, and the celebration of Christ’s birth, I promise to pray for you and your family this Christmas. I promise!

    Like

  2. What a great reminder…some of the most significant gifts are the “intangible” ones…and we can give them all year round… 🙂

    Like

  3. scrunchylips says:

    I am the same way! Hannah! I like you! 🙂 thanks for this! it was encouraging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

