THINKING AHEAD by Yvonne Lehman

I can easily get caught up in the Christmas season and before i realize it, the New Year is upon me. But I’ve found it productive to take time for thinking about my writing and personal goals for the New Year. I can look back and see that all my goals weren’t accomplished, sometimes because of unforeseen circumstances, sometimes due to my own negligence or procrastination.

I plan to evaluate what I’ve learned this year, and determine how I can use my time more efficiently. Perhaps your sharing will help me do that. I tend to think I have all the time in the world (but it’s flying!) and I procrastinate. One of my goals is to make a daily writing schedule (which I have to do when on deadline) and stick to it as much as possible. Also, I want to study the many books I have on the craft of writing.

Too often my goals put writing at the top of the list. I need to think about my goals for friends and family. I take for granted that I pray for them but I need to be more attentive in personal ways, not just when they need me.

This year my Writer Group met at The Cove, theBillyGrahamTrainingCenterin these gorgeous mountains of westernNorth Carolina. It’s a beautiful place but decorated for Christmas, it’s spectacular. We ate lunch at their Ladies’ Luncheon after church, then met for an hour before hearing Rachel-Ruth Graham Wright (Anne Lotz’ daughter) speak.

Lori, Diana, Susan, Yvonne, two Debbie's, Terri, Cindy (3 not there)

During our meeting we shared our goals for the coming year. We all want to improve our craft of writing. One goal that is particularly meaningful is that we plan to be more diligent in praying for each other and we chose prayer partners. We prayed that God would put the right people together. We put our names in a container and one person pulled out two names at a time and those two were partners. I’ve had prayer partners in the past and a close bond forms between people when you know you’re praying for each other daily.

One of my goals is to again have a prayer closet. That’s a subject for another post, if anyone is interested. But I have already prepared my closet, so that’s one goal accomplished.

I’d love to hear about some of your goals.

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!
Yvonne L.

About yvon63

Yvonne, with 73 books to her credit, is an award-winning, best-selling author of 57 novels with more than 3,000,000 books in print. Her work has been published throughout the US and in Germany, Holland, and Norway. Yvonne loves to read in many genres, so she writes for readers of Romance, Women’s Fiction, Christian Fiction, Cozy Mystery, Young Adult, Biblical times and stories including suspense, humor, true events and thought-provoking plots with intriguing characters. She lives in panoramic western North Carolina with her Pomeranian, Rigel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Yvonne Lehman. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.