THINKING AHEAD by Yvonne Lehman

I can easily get caught up in the Christmas season and before i realize it, the New Year is upon me. But I’ve found it productive to take time for thinking about my writing and personal goals for the New Year. I can look back and see that all my goals weren’t accomplished, sometimes because of unforeseen circumstances, sometimes due to my own negligence or procrastination.

I plan to evaluate what I’ve learned this year, and determine how I can use my time more efficiently. Perhaps your sharing will help me do that. I tend to think I have all the time in the world (but it’s flying!) and I procrastinate. One of my goals is to make a daily writing schedule (which I have to do when on deadline) and stick to it as much as possible. Also, I want to study the many books I have on the craft of writing.

Too often my goals put writing at the top of the list. I need to think about my goals for friends and family. I take for granted that I pray for them but I need to be more attentive in personal ways, not just when they need me.

This year my Writer Group met at The Cove, theBillyGrahamTrainingCenterin these gorgeous mountains of westernNorth Carolina. It’s a beautiful place but decorated for Christmas, it’s spectacular. We ate lunch at their Ladies’ Luncheon after church, then met for an hour before hearing Rachel-Ruth Graham Wright (Anne Lotz’ daughter) speak.

Lori, Diana, Susan, Yvonne, two Debbie's, Terri, Cindy (3 not there)

During our meeting we shared our goals for the coming year. We all want to improve our craft of writing. One goal that is particularly meaningful is that we plan to be more diligent in praying for each other and we chose prayer partners. We prayed that God would put the right people together. We put our names in a container and one person pulled out two names at a time and those two were partners. I’ve had prayer partners in the past and a close bond forms between people when you know you’re praying for each other daily.

One of my goals is to again have a prayer closet. That’s a subject for another post, if anyone is interested. But I have already prepared my closet, so that’s one goal accomplished.

I’d love to hear about some of your goals.

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!
Yvonne L.

About yvon63

Author of 50 novels. Director of Blue Ridge Christian "Autumn in the Mountains" Novelist Retreat held annually in October, in the panoramic mountains of western North Carolina.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Yvonne Lehman. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

