Word Games, Posted by Maureen Lang

I think I’ve been in love with words since I was a child. I once aspired to read through the dictionary in its entirety, but never made it all the way through, at least not consecutively—I often just read randomly to enjoy words I’d never heard before.

This past week, my husband heard a commercial on the television that used the word “ginormous.” It’s the holiday season, and evidently the advertised sale was so big neither gigantic nor enormous would suffice to describe it, so they used “ginormous.”

His first reaction was to laugh at the made-up feel of the word. But when I mentioned I’d heard ginormous had officially been added to the English dictionary, he said, “That’s stupidiculous.” Meaning, of course, neither stupid nor ridiculous could quite define his opinion of such an addition.

So all weekend he was making up new words. When I complained about having cleaned up something for the umpteenth time he offered his support by saying “Now that’s frusappointing.” Meaning he saw my frustration and disappointment that the same task had to be done again (cleaning up after our disabled son because there was little hope of the task being removed from our list of regular duties). Thanks for smiling me out of it, honey.

When asked about something he didn’t have much of an opinion on, he said he had total lackapathy about it. Starting to get used to his new form of language, I guessed he meant lackadaisical plus apathy.

It’s been a fun game, reminding me of how we began a more traditional game of speaking pig latin several years ago. That one was so successful even our dog understands it! Another game we played was to give each other strikes if we used a cliche. That one lasted for years.

For a teacher and a writer, word games are something we both enjoy. I guess that’s part of the reason we’re soul mates.

What about you? Do you like word games? Want to play the latest? As an avid reader, are you curious about the game? That might make you scrutinious. Scrutiny plus curious. Do you like languages, and grammar? Perhaps that makes you a grammaquist: grammarian plus linguist.

Have some fun and try making up your own new word. It’s unbelastically fun (unbelievably fantastic). No real rules or scorekeeping, just combine two words to make up a new one. Have fun!

About Maureen Lang

Author of a dozen novels, Maureen Lang has won the Selah Award, a Holt Medallion, FHL's Reader's Choice Award, and been a finalist in such contests as the Christy, the Rita, the Carol, Book Buyer's Best, and others. Before publication she was the recipient of a Golden Heart and a Genesis (then called the Noble Theme). She resides with her husband and kids in the Chicago area. Titles by Maureen Lang All In Good Time Bees In The Butterfly Garden Springtime Of The Spirit Whisper On The Wind Look To The East My Sister Dilly On Sparrow Hill The Oak Leaves Remember Me Pieces Of Silver
This entry was posted in Maureen Lang, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Word Games, Posted by Maureen Lang

  1. Beth Goddard says:

    Love the game–I’ve been making up words for years. I especially love to use the word wondermous–not even sure where I got that. In one of my books a couple a years ago, my character made up a few words–one of which was “bogosity.” My publisher didn’t like the made-up words so I had to take those out!

    Like

    • Maureen Lang says:

      Oh, don’t you hate it when your vision isn’t shared by others? I’ve nearly cried over a few of the things that end up on the cutting room floor! But by the time the books comes out I’m usually in agreement—and sometimes a lot sooner than that. LOL.

      Love your wondermous, by the way!

      Like

  2. Stupidiculous—I could get addicted to that one! Great post, as always.

    Like

    • Maureen Lang says:

      I’m sitting here laughing because “stupidiculous” is now part of our vocabulary around here! Nice to know at least one other person outside the family will be familiar with the word when we use it. Who knows, maybe someday it’ll be added to the dictionary. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting, Julie!

      Like

Leave a Reply

