Ebook Readers and My Parents by Camy Tang

Camy here! I was talking to my mom the other day about ebook readers, because my aunty has just bought an iPad which she wants to use for two main purposes: to play games and to read books.

My aunty said that the hardcover books she likes to read are too heavy for her, and so she wanted the iPad. She didn’t want just an ebook reader because she also wants to play games, and she liked playing games on my mom’s iPad.

Mom and I started talking about reading books on devices like the Nook, Kindle, and the iPad. I personally like reading books best on my Nook because of several reasons:

The Nook Touch is extremely lightweight
I can adjust the fonts to be as large as I need them to be
There are hundreds of books in my Nook for me to choose from, depending on my mood.

My mom likes her iPad because the screen is larger and like me she enjoys making the fonts larger. It’s not as light as the Nook, but she can also play games on the iPad with the larger screen.

This got us to talking about how most “older” readers like my mom and aunty’s age theoretically should like ebook readers over paperback or hardcover books, for the simple fact that they can adjust the font size to be as large as they need it to be. Also, for the iPad at least, the screen is larger, although you have a heaver device with the larger screen.

Mom, however, lamented the fact that most of her friends are very computer-phobic, and even though you don’t need a computer to use a Nook or Kindle, her friends shy away from technology.

That made me kind of sad, because I can see how an ebook reader would allow older people to still enjoy books that they might have a hard time reading because the font is too small. The Nook and Kindle are both very easy to use, also. The iPad is a bit more difficult to use and you need a computer, but it was easy enough for my mom to learn to use it once I set up her wireless connection for her.

I think that as more people get ebook readers and as their non-tech-savvy friends see them using them and get to play around with the devices for themselves, then more people will start getting ebook readers, especially people who are older. I think we will see this happening in the coming years.

I think there will always be paperback and hardcover books, because people will always love them. But as readers get older and the font size and weight of the books make more of a difference to them, I think they might start looking into ebook readers for themselves. What do you think?

On a purely self-promotional note, I noticed that the ebook copy of my December release, Protection for Hire, got pushed back a week on Christianbook.com, but it should be available today! You can also get the Kindle, Nookbook, and Kobo versions right now. I hope you enjoy it!

Camy Tang writes romance with a kick of wasabi. Out now is the first book in her new series, Protection for Hire, which is a cross between Stephanie Plum and The Joy Luck Club. She is a staff worker for her church youth group, and leads one of the worship teams for Sunday service. On her blog, she ponders frivolous things like knitting, running, dogs, and Asiana. Visit her website to sign up for her quarterly newsletter.

Click here to find out how you can join my Street Team—it’s free and there’s lots of chances to win prizes!

About Camy Tang/Camille Elliot

Camy writes romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com and http://www.camilleelliot.com to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.
This entry was posted in Camy Tang, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ebook Readers and My Parents by Camy Tang

  1. Debra E Marvin says:

    I don’t know where the age limit falls off these days for technology. Certainly most people in their fifties and sixties are comfortable with a computer. To skew the stats, my 94 y o neighbor got a kindle and loves it!

    Like

  2. Maureen Lang says:

    My guess is if an older person received a Kindle or Nook as a gift and were shown how simple they are to use, they’d love it! I have the original Kindle but this year as an early Christmas present my husband bought me a Kindle Fire. Yes, I couldn’t wait so I opened it the day it came – actually HE opened it before I even came home. It’s supposed to be mine – it even says right up there on the corner “Maureen’s Kindle” but everyone in the family uses it. 🙂 My husband likes to search out new books or watch the many free streaming videos, documentaries or a quick tv show, and my youngest son to read with it.
    Personally, I love the Fire for videos but I still prefer my old Kindle for reading. I don’t like the backlighting on the Fire, it feels too much like a computer screen and makes my eyes tired. That might be something to consider with an older person. The videos are great, but if they really plan to read with it because of the font adjustment, the ease of use, the light weight, the ones that aren’t backlit are probably the best choice (imho).

    Like

  3. Those are the reasons I like my old, steady Kindle. Light on the occasionally painful hands (and no, I refuse to call it arthritis!) and I can make the letters as big as I want (again, not because of age, because I’m really, really young for a writer 😉 but because I work all day on the computer, I need the ease of reading my Kindle without the backlight. And Maureen, I think you need to get your husband a Kindle Fire for Christmas so you can have yours back. I had to do that with my laptop. Any time I went to get it, I knew I could find it in Mel’s lap. He got one for his 20 anniversary in his field of work.

    Like

  4. Debra, I’m so impressed with your neighbor!!! My mom’s friends mostly are computer phobic.

    Maureen, how great you got a Kindle Fire! And how funny that your family has hijacked it! LOL I agree, the Kindle Fire is nice for videos but as a reader I’d prefer a non-backlit one because it’s better for my eyes. I think that for older readers, they’d like the nonbacklit one for their eyes, too.

    Hannah, your thieving husband! LOL I agree with you, after staring at the computer all day, I like reading paperbacks or my Nook.

    Like

  5. Beth Goddard says:

    Camy,

    Do you know if you have to have a computer to use an ebook reader? I have an aunt who loves to read and would love one but she doesn’t have a computer and doesn’t want one. I haven’t had the time to do any research.

    Like

  6. Beth, no, you don’t need a computer to use an ereader. Most ereaders directly connect to the online bookstore, like the Nook and Kindle, and if you don’t already have a Barnes and Noble or Amazon account, you can do it with the ereader.

    Like

  7. I’d love to see a spunky senior character using her e-reader. 🙂 It’s good to read about the Kindle Fire and the backlighting. That would definitely be frustrating for my mom. I always look forward to your posts, Camy.

    Like

  8. Aw thanks Julie! Maybe your mom will get an ereader for Christmas??? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

