Do We Fear Our Rescuer? by Hannah Alexander

Our pastor preached a fascinating sermon the other day, and pointed out something I had never considered. We all know that the first time the disciples got into trouble on the Sea of Galilee, Jesus was already with them on the boat, and they were frightened of the storm. They knew their rescuer was right there, so they woke Him up as they were freaking about the storm.

 

The second time they freaked, however, wasn’t because of the storm, but because of the very Rescuer who had saved them from the storm before. They’d seen him feed thousands, heal many, bring people back from the dead, but when they saw Him walking across the water they thought he was a ghost, and I can just imagine that no storm had frightened them as badly as Christ, Himself, did when they saw him on those waves.

 

Now, I’ve had some times in my life when circumstances have given me such angst that I made myself sick worrying about them. Not only have financial woes given me fits, but painful relationships, strange noises in the house, the house alarm going off, coming across strangers on the hiking trail, medical crises, automobile accidents, my mother’s dementia, and of course manuscript deadlines. I could name so many more.

 

But I’ve looked back on those times and discovered that those worries weren’t for nothing. The financial woes have, indeed, placed us into deep debt, but they have also kept us from spending money on things we don’t need, and once those debts are paid–when we’re in our seventies–we’ll have enough income to keep us going. I think God’s hand was in that. I also believe God’s hand was in the medical trials–showing me the fragility of life, and that I am NOT all powerful. Painful relationships have shown me that God is the true One with Whom I need my relationship. He is the One who will not fail me. I’ve learned so much through the trials God allows in my life, things that frightened and hurt me so badly at the time, but which I can look back on now and use in my novels, when counseling others, when trying to understand the fears of others.

 

I’d love to hear from you about something God sent your way–like Jesus over the stormy sea–that frightened you at the time, but that turned out to be an incident that increased your faith.

 

Blessings to you from Hannah Alexander

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do We Fear Our Rescuer? by Hannah Alexander

  1. Erica says:

    I was just thinking back moments ago to when the Lord allowed my family to experience pain, fear, and debt and how it has pushed us to learn to abide in Him more. The feeling is supernatural.

    Great post!

    Like

  2. juliearduini says:

    Hands down, it was the near death of our 3 month old in 2003. Frightened doesn’t even cover it, but we trusted God with her, even though we knew it could mean He chose her to be with Him. He healed her in a way where she is still with us, and it showed me how I can be stripped down to nothing, and yet have everything, because of Him.

    Like

    • Wow, Julie, that’s got to be one of the most frightening things to happen to a parent. I lost a stepdaughter to drunk driving when she was eighteen. The devastation was something I’d never experienced before or since, so I cannot imagine how her mother lived through not only that, but the death of her other daughter years before that. Death is so cruel that even the thought of it terrifies us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

