Time for Thanksgiving by Elizabeth Goddard

This morning I discovered all my “brilliant” thoughts on Thanksgiving were deleted. Not sure how that happened. This being Thanksgiving Day, I can’t begin to put the time and thought into a replacement post. I’ve learned my lesson, though. Next time I’ll be sure to save my posts in another document, just in case.

I spent the week perusing various blogs and Facebook, reading posts regarding what people are thankful for.  Friends, family, distant relatives and people I don’t know personally have written about what they are personally thankful for.

What am I thankful for?

Every breath, every moment.

You’ve heard the saying, the older you get the faster time flies. . .

My son was only eight years old when he first commented that time went by faster for that year, than the year before. I was in my twenties, maybe thirties, before I noticed that time seemed to pass more quickly the older I get.

Is it a matter of age? Or is time literally moving faster in this age or generation, if you will, in one of those  time-space continuum theories  sort of ways that non-physicists can’t begin to comprehend?

My life used to be measured from one holiday to the next like Christmas or birthdays. I hadn’t yet recovered from the Christmas fallout–gifts for four children, friends and loved-ones, decorations and baking expenditures–before I was facing the next Christmas. Now I measure my life in deadlines. A blessing for which I’m grateful.

But as the busyness of life takes over, I’ve noticed that my life is passing me by. I’ve become more resolute in making sure I savor every moment with my loved ones–my children, husband, parents, and friends, with the Lord, though I’m already in eternity with Him.

That’s why Thanksgiving is such an important day–we’re forced to stop and smell the roses (to be cliche), or to take the time to consider our blessings and to treasure our family because time is passing quickly and there is nothing like the present.

May you enjoy today with your family and friends and savor every breath, every moment.

Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom. Psalm 90:12.

Blessings!

Beth

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time for Thanksgiving by Elizabeth Goddard

  1. I didn’t do it, honestly, Beth. Sounds like something I’d do, though.

    Like

  2. juliearduini says:

    We were definitely able to take it slower on the actual day, but I want to make it a lifestyle. I know there are things we must do, but I agree, why not do so in a way where we can appreciate all things at the same time?

    Like

Leave a Reply

