TV Shows and Protection for Hire by Camy Tang

Camy here! I will admit to loving certain television shows, although I’ve been trying to limit my TV consumption.

Among my favorite series right now are Nikita (the newly remade series) and Covert Affairs, and one of my all-time favorite series was Alias, all three of which star kick-butt heroines.

What’s more, when I came up with the idea for my December release, Protection for Hire, I had just come off of a marathon of watching the original Nikita series (starring Peta Wilson) on DVD, thanks to Netflix, AND watching the Dark Angel series (starring Jessica Alba) on DVD, which I had bought. Both series star yet more kick-butt heroines, so I was feeling a bit feisty, to say the least.

I think that’s what influenced me the most when I was coming up with my heroine, Tessa. Her uncle is the head of the San Francisco Japanese mafia, and while she wasn’t “officially” mafia, she did “odd jobs” for him. She could take care of herself, to say the least, much like Nikita and Max (from Dark Angel). (And can you see the influence of The Sopranos, too?)

Then Tessa went to prison–for a crime she didn’t commit–and she found Jesus in jail. When Protection for Hire opens, Tessa has gotten out of prison and is trying to convince her mafia boss uncle that no, she really doesn’t want to continue breaking people’s kneecaps for him.

Except no one wants to hire an ex-convict, much less the niece of a mafia boss, and so in order to be able to move out of her (psycho) mother’s house, she agrees to work as a bodyguard for a Southern belle heiress whose husband just happens to be trying to kill her. The problem is that the heiress’s lawyer is Charles Britton, who had been instrumental in putting Tessa away for maximum time behind bars.

Can you see the sparks flying yet???

When I was telling my husband about my story idea for Protection for Hire, he gave me a dry look and said, “Why don’t you name her ‘Nikita Max Annie Sydney Bristow’?” (For those of you who don’t know, those are the heroines of Nikita, Dark Angel, Covert Affairs, and Alias in order. My husband thinks he is just sooooooo clever.)

So alas, television has not only rotted my brain, it influenced my next story heroine’s character.

Protection for Hire releases December 1st (officially). I hope you all enjoy it!

Camy Tang writes romance with a kick of wasabi. Out now is the first book in her new series, Protection for Hire, which is a cross between Stephanie Plum and The Joy Luck Club. She is a staff worker for her church youth group, and leads one of the worship teams for Sunday service. On her blog, she ponders frivolous things like knitting, running, dogs, and Asiana. Visit her website to sign up for her quarterly newsletter.

Click here to find out how you can join my Street Team—it’s free and there’s lots of chances to win prizes!

About Camy Tang/Camille Elliot

Camy writes romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com and http://www.camilleelliot.com to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.
This entry was posted in Camy Tang, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to TV Shows and Protection for Hire by Camy Tang

  1. Martha A. says:

    Alias was the best! I was so sad that it ended!

    Like

  2. camytang says:

    I loved Alias, too! Although when they started that Rimbaldi weird stuff it was a bit disappointing, but the ending was really good.

    Like

  3. vickihinze says:

    Camy, read PROTECTION FOR HIRE and loved it. Eagerly awaiting the next one! I loved the heroine in this book. She’s trying so hard to live a Christian life in a very non-Christian world that is intriguing. Great job on it.

    Like

  4. hannahalexander181 says:

    You’ve just given me more shows to find on Netflix, Camy! We’ve watched all of NCIS, NCIS LA, The Mentalist, and all those other team dynamics shows. Now for more! And can’t wait to read your latest!

    Like

  5. Maureen Lang says:

    Sounds like a great book, Camy!

    I just discovered watching tv shows on hulu – even new shows, so long as they’ve already aired on network television. I almost never watch tv except for the news, but my daughter was telling me about a new show that incorporated fairy tales into a modern-day storyline. So I thought she was talking about Grimm, and I watched the first shows. It’s clever and the special effects are great. Then I found out she was really talking about yet another show that has a fairy tale element – Once Upon A Time. Goodness! Who knew fairy tales were so hot? So then I watched the first few shows of that series and I have to say for visuals of medieval times, it’s great when it flashes back. It, too, is so cleverly written.

    But really! Now I have to stay away from hulu because time already flies too quickly. But reading your post removes my guilt. Who knows what kind of inspiration I’ll find?

    Like

  6. Thanks, Vicki! I was so thrilled that you liked it!

    Hannah, I love those shows, too!

    Maureen, I’ve got both Grimm and Once Upon a Time on our Tivo! I love those shows! Hubby likes Grimm, which I think is a bit darker, but it has such an amazing series premise. Once Upon a Time is so intriguing because it raises so many questions about what’s going on.

    Like

  7. juliearduini says:

    I’m a Covert Affairs fan. The actor who plays Auggy is on Twitter and is very fan-friendly. I’ve enjoyed his behind the scenes Tweets.

    I love learning the genesis of a story. I can’t wait to read Protection for Hire!

    Like

  8. Julie, I think Christopher Gorham is a cutie!!!!! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

