Acts of Kindness by Hannah Alexander

Due to my mother’s declining health, I have been the recipient of multiple acts of kindness lately, and those acts are like a touch from God to me, and I’ve learned to show more kindness toward others. It’s contagious.

I love getting together with some long-time high school friends–I don’t dare call them old friends, since we’re all the same age. Several of us have a girls’ pajama party one weekend a year. This past weekend I was touched by the kindness of those friends. Sherry, for instance, knows I’m allergic to gluten, so she went out of her way to find recipes free of gluten. She baked gluten-free muffins, tried over and over to make gluten free pumpkin pancakes and rice pudding. Just for me, because she knew I was allergic. And then there’s Doris, who reads my books and remembers them, and who made individualized pillow cases for each of us–mine was covered with cats. Then there’s Deb, who planned a gluten-free meal of salmon and rice, and didn’t even get upset when I had to leave early due to a change of plans, and totally missed the meal. Tess took off work early and rushed home to grab the chili she makes every year for our pajama party. It was, of course, gluten free. When kindness abounds, friendship abounds, and our friendship spans over forty years.

Another act of continued kindness comes from my mother’s Sunday school class. They not only visit her here nearly every week, but they bring food for the freezer. Those ladies know how to cook, and they have fed us many a wonderful meal, taking quite a load off my shoulders. They share not only food and time, but encouragement and letters and passages from the Bible. Our pastor’s wife, as well, comes nearly every Wednesday to visit with Mom, share memories and look at pictures. None of these are quick visits, but they stay and spend quality time with Mom, freeing me to get other things done.

As my mother continued to fail and her dementia worsened, we hired someone I have known from church for thirty-five years, who wasn’t presently working, and who has experience working with dementia patients. I’m amazed by her patience, compassion and kindness toward my mother, and the way she handles Mom deftly when sundowner’s strikes in late afternoon. This same person likes to shovel snow, and when snow hits, she sneaks to the homes of the elderly from our church and shovels the snow from their walks. She doesn’t want pay or thanks, she just wants to make sure they’re safe when they step outside. She doesn’t even see the beauty in her own heart.

I could go on about the wonderful acts of kindness carried out by people who have heard the whisper of God in their ear, and who obeyed, but how about you? Have you experienced acts of kindness in your life lately? Would you like to honor that kindness by sharing it with us? I’d love to read them.

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Acts of Kindness by Hannah Alexander

  1. CiCi says:

    Oh how I love this post! And such perfect timing in my life right now as we are moving my mother into the apartment below us. She isn’t ill or at that age yet but we are taking the steps to get her closer to family physically. My sister and I will be covering a portion of her rent to make it all happen. In these past few days, people are stepping up left and right to offer not only their support and encouragement, but anything else we’ve needed to make the transition easier on her. They’ve seen what we’ve done, and in turn, it’s encouraged them to step up as well. It’s also drawn us closer as a family. Realizing that financially we need to take better care of each other, this year we’ve adopted a family less fortunate than us, and are providing them a Christmas. This whole thing has shown us that everyone needs to be taken care of and that there is always something that can be done.
    Thanks again for the beautiful post about giving!

    Like

  2. vickihinze says:

    Hannah, I loved this post. Acts of Kindness. Often people do them and they have no idea how much they do to lift the spirit or give a breath to someone who really needs it. It can change the outlook for a minute, a day, a lifetime.

    I’m so glad you posted this. I have a dear, dear friend who says of things like to those who do those random acts of kindness: “It’s like a hug from Jesus.” And he’s right, it is.

    Like

  3. juliearduini says:

    It was just last night that someone in a meeting made a statement saying it is those little things that we take for granted when we do them, that probably have the most impact of all. I worked with the Office for the Aging for years and dementia caregivers need encouragement and helping hands. I’m so glad you and your mom are receiving love in this regard.

    Like

    • Cici, what a precious thing you’re doing by helping others who need that help. That is an act of kindness that will spread. Bless you!

      And Vicki, I agree with your friend. It’s like God reached down for a hug. So warm and reassuring.

      Absolutely, Julie. We may be doing acts of kindness because we enjoy what we’re doing. It’s still kindness. Who says being kind can’t be fun?

      Like

Leave a Reply

