How Good Are You, Really?

     I wish I could draw something as delicate and lovely as these flowers. I know people who can, but I’m not one of them. I love standing in my sunroom and looking out across the hollow at the autumn trees of all colors. If I could only sponge paint that scene on my writing hideaway wall. But I know myself, and that isn’t my gift. Even my gift of writing isn’t always satisfying if I’m looking for the wrong thing in it. Do I write because I want to bring glory to God, or do I write to bring glory to myself, to show my craft in its finest light and win awards and receive rave reviews? Do I practice writing, struggle over it, rewrite and rewrite until I get it the way it should read?i

 

Did you ever decide you needed to trim your bangs, and got a little carried away, and by the time you finished you realized you had created for yourself a bad hair day for the rest of the year? And yet, when was the last time you took a class in hair design? I’ve never taken a painting class, so what makes me think I would be a good artist without learning how?

 

And how can we be good Christians in the eyes of God if we don’t practice Christianity by prayer, reading of Him, from Him, living in His Light? It takes practice to create anything of beauty. The most important beauty to seek is the beauty of my relationship with God.

How about you? What is your struggle? What do you want to improve about yourself and how will you go about doing that?

 

 

 

 

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Good Are You, Really?

  1. Sarah Goebel says:

    Hannah, I have so much that needs improving! It is a strange thing that the more we walk with the Lord, the more we know we need to change even though we see that He has changed so much in us to date. And it is so true that change happens not because of our striving, but because of our relationship with the the one who is beautiful! If we just take time to spend time with Him, He changes us and will continue to do so until we meet Him face to face! We can truly find rest in Him! As we do, He fights our battle! What a great Lord we serve! Thank you for reminding us about relationship. It is so different than religion. Blessings!

    Like

  2. Maureen Lang says:

    Such a great reminder to rest in Him, to look at what He’s doing in our life so we’ll spend our energy trying to improve the area He’s working on in us! I’m always looking toward improving my writing – mainly by reading books that inspire me, lots of fiction but lots of non-fiction for research, too.

    But lately God has been working to remind me that the older I’m getting I’m not settling back – instead, I’m getting more impatient. Isn’t that backwards? How many times have I heard it said: Ah, the impatience of youth…and yet here I am, by no standard a youth any more, and I’m more impatient than ever. Not with the big things, which may be what younger people are impatient about. But about the little things that somehow just bug me, when there’s really no reason. So I sense God’s whisper, reminding me to take it easy.

    I’ve never, ever prayed for patience for fear of the lesson it’ll take me to learn it. I guess I have to rethink that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

