Going into All the World by Kathi Macias

From the moment I signed the contract with New Hope Publishers for my four-book Extreme Devotion fiction series, I began hearing variations of the same question from potential readers: What’s the genre?

Tough one to answer. I suppose contemporary international fiction sums it up best, since each book is set in a different country and takes place in modern times. But New Hope, which is known for its passion for missions, has opted to call the line “Fiction with a Mission,” and I couldn’t be more pleased with that label.

All four books of the Extreme Devotion series—No Greater Love (set in South Africa in 1989 during the violence and upheaval preceding the overthrow of Apartheid), More than Conquerors (set in Mexico and dealing with the Mayan culture and influence), Red Ink (set in China and loosely based on the true-life story of currently-imprisoned-for-her-faith Li Yin), and People of the Book (set in Saudi Arabia and dealing with the cost of converting from Islam to Christianity) have now released.

The writing and production of this series was an exciting shared adventure, as I partnered with New Hope Publishers in their first fiction launch even while I learned about the unique aspects of writing fiction in international settings. It was also quite a challenge, as I’d never helped launch a first-ever fiction line for a publisher known for their nonfiction. In addition, of the four countries highlighted in the books, I have been to only one—Mexico—but I have never set foot in the area where the Mayan culture is so strong and where much of that book takes place. Can anyone say RESEARCH? Online research, library research, books and videos and movies—and people. My greatest resource for authentic research was connecting with people who either currently lived in the countries where my stories occur or had recently lived there. Though I began the writing of the stories based on much of my online and book research, the majority of personal touches that make readers say, “Wow, it’s like I’m right there!” came about as a result of feedback from those who know the areas and culture firsthand.

And now we are in the midst of the Freedom series, another “fiction with a mission” offering (trilogy) based on the topic of human trafficking. The first book, Deliver Me From Evil, released in September 2011, with the following two books in the series, Special Delivery and The Deliverer, set to release in 2012. Though much of this series takes place right here in the States, as I wanted readers to understand that human trafficking doesn’t just happen in faraway lands, the books will also contain a strong sub-plot set in the Golden Triangle area of Thailand as well as several scenes in Mexico. (Yep, more research!) Even our stand-alone 2011 Christmas book, A Christmas Journey Home, has an international setting, with the story going back and forth between the Baja area of Mexico and the Arizona desert.

As an author of Christian books, this is my way of “going into all the world” to fulfill the Great Commission—and helping my readers do the same. I pray my venture into international fiction will truly prove to be “fiction with a mission” for all who read it—and who may find themselves called to expand their own outreach in response to God’s call on their lives. For after all, whether we’re readers or writers–or both–we’re all on the same team with the same Captain!

About alandkathi66

I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, married to my junior/senior high school sweetheart, Al. I am the author of 40 books, with several more in process. I enjoy speaking and teaching at writers' conferences and women's events, and I am passionate about supporting the persecuted Church and fighting human trafficking. I also serve as Senior Vice President of Acquisitions for Elk Lake Publishing. My most recent releases are The Singing Quilt (March 2014); The 40-Day Devotional Challenge (January 2014); The Doctor's Christmas Quilt (October 2013).
This entry was posted in Kathi Macias, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Going into All the World by Kathi Macias

  1. That’s exactly what we’re called to do–go into all the world. And what better way to do that than with a novel. What a great way to touch hearts and souls.

    Like

  2. Terrie Coleman says:

    Kathi you are a treasure! While in my twenties, I spent about a year in Central America with Youth With a Mission. While on team outreaches, I met and lived with people from Mayan, Garifuna and other cultures in Belize, Guatemala and El Salvador. The missions base included students and staff from many countries and cultures as well. The people I met have never left my heart. I think that to live among and serve these people as a Christian was a much deeper experience than it would have been, say with the Peace Corp or another secular organization. To feel God’s heart for them, and to experience them and their way of life from His perspective planted these people groups deep in my heart. I love them still and pray often for them and those who serve them. Thank you for your books and for being faithful with your gift.

    Like

  3. Thanks so much, Terrie. I so admire missionaries who spend time in foreign countries, getting to know and respect other cultures and peoples, even as they bring them the truth of the gospel. What an honor and privilege!

    Like

  4. vickihinze says:

    Great post, Kathi. I just heard a woman now in witness protection in Germany speaking about her conversion to Christianity (which now has a death sentence chasing her). So many take for granted what others must be willing to die for. I’m so glad you’re doing this.

    Like

  5. Sarah Goebel says:

    Kathi,
    I am so excited about what the Lord is doing in your writing! These series are most definitely fiction on a mission. The human trafficking issue is one of the areas my heart cries out in intercession concerning. There has recently been a lot of light shed to reveal just how much of this is a reality right here in our backyards. Good work, Kathi! I can not even imagine the number of hours you have had to put in to research to write these books! Praise God for His mighty grace!

    Like

  6. Thanks, Sarah. These topics require tons of research and have stretched me beyond my comfort zones. But I have also found myself introduced to new heroes/heroines I would never have met otherwise. God is so good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

