It’s Storming Inside! by Hannah Alexander

We had a major storm last night, with wind that threatened to blow the windows out, rain that washed leaves from the trees, and thunder that deafened me. I’ve always enjoyed storms, but lately they just add to the stress of my life. All that wild sound and those flashes of light and wind that strikes the house echoes inside me, and I just want to cover my head and plug my ears.

Our biggest storms lately have been inside the house, with my mother’s increasing dementia. Sundowner’s syndrome is frightening and nearly impossible to manage without medication, and we ran out of medication yesterday! By the time I arrived home from shopping, Mom had half her things out on the sidewalk, determined to move back home. Not only does she not have a car, she can barely walk, can no longer drive, and she doesn’t know where “home” is when sundowner’s hits. The only thing we can do then is place her in my car and drive her around. That’s the only thing that will settle her down. That, plus the medications.

To my horror, I woke up this morning to find that Mom was still stressed with sundowner’s syndrome–she had no idea where she was, where her family was–most of them are dead now, and we can’t tell her–and she may not have known me. Sometimes it’s hard to tell. I was so tired I couldn’t be cheery with her as I typically am, because usually, in the morning, Mom is cheery and in her right mind. She may not remember anything, but she knows who she is and who I am. All I could pray this morning was “Lord, help, Lord, help.”

And He did. The chaplain from Mom’s hospice knocked on the door. I told him what was going on, and he told me she didn’t need to see any strangers so he would pray with me and leave quickly. He did. And then he reminded me that my mood affects her mood. I’m her only child, and when I’m happy, so is she. So I went back into the house and found Mom and smiled and encouraged her and offered her cocoa (her Ensure) and helped her dress. This morning’s storm settled down, and I’ve been able to function today.

Isn’t it wonderful how just a two-word prayer can be answered in seconds, is even being answered before it’s prayed? Have you ever had something like that happen to you? I’d love to hear about it.

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Storming Inside! by Hannah Alexander

  1. vickihinze says:

    Hannah, such a difficult thing to endure for you both. During my mother’s illness, at times she was there and at times she was not. It’s heart-wrenching. But what a blessing to have your prayer answered almost before you asked! That’s comforting and reassuring.

    Will be praying for continued strength and serenity.
    Blessings,
    Vicki

    Like

  2. Maureen Lang says:

    I’m so sorry you’re having to face these kinds of days! I’ve prayed my share of those brief pleas, too. My disabled son doesn’t have a malicious bone in his body, but there are days when his constant noise is harder to bear than on other days. That’s silly, isn’t it, to be bothered by something as harmless as noise? Sometimes by Sunday evening, after a long weekend at home, I’m sending up those very short prayers – and God is gracious enough to answer by sending the sweetest smile to me through my son that just melts my heart and all those frustrations along with it. Sometimes we’re just a little too human, my son and I, both with our limitations. I guess that’s why when we get up every day, the words “We live to fight another day” cross my mind. That’s what it feels like sometimes!

    Like

    • Thank you for those words of encouragement! Yes, it gets to the point where you think you can take no more, then you see that dawn of hope, and the hardship backs away for a while. Thank God for that!

      Like

  3. juliearduini says:

    Those brief prayers are lifesavers, aren’t they? I said so many when our baby was chronically ill, my husband was 300 miles away with a new job, my dad was dying, and our son needed to get his tonsils out in the middle of all that. There was nothing left for me to give. But…God. I worked with senior citizens for a decade and saw the mountains and valleys they dealt with. Bless you for being there. It would surprise you how many adult children would have nothing to do with their parents.

    Like

Leave a Reply

