BOOKS YOU READ AGAIN AND AGAIN by Camy Tang

Camy Tang here! So I’m curious, what books are “re-reads” for you? And what exactly defines a re-read book for you?

I might be in the minority, but there are very few re-reads on my bookshelf. Persuasion, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, and Mansfield Park by Jane Austen are my most often re-read books. I also re-read French Women Don’t Get Fat because I find it inspiring and helpful in my weight loss goals. And once in a while I’ll re-read Dragonsong and Dragonsinger by Anne McCaffrey.

Other than that … I guess there are just so many new books to read that I don’t have time for re-reading. I’m always excited to pick up the new Love Inspired Suspense novels each month, so I don’t often re-read any old ones since there are new ones just begging to be opened!

The only times I reread books are when I’m tired and want some “comfort reading.” LOL Is there such a thing? I think I just made that up. But I’m sure you all know what I’m talking about—those books that give you warm fuzzies no matter how many times you read them. You don’t have to think, you just have to wrap yourself in a familiar book like that holey-yet-warm granny square blanket your grandma crocheted for you when you were a kid and you always love.

So what books do you re-read, and why? What defines a re-read for you?

Camy Tang writes romance with a kick of wasabi. Out now is the fourth book in her Sushi series, Weddings and Wasabi. She is a staff worker for her church youth group, and leads one of the worship teams for Sunday service. On her blog, she ponders frivolous things like knitting, running, dogs, and Asiana. Visit her website to sign up for her quarterly newsletter.

Click here to find out how you can join my Street Team—it’s free and there’s lots of chances to win prizes!

About Camy Tang/Camille Elliot

Camy writes romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com and http://www.camilleelliot.com to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.
This entry was posted in Camy Tang, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to BOOKS YOU READ AGAIN AND AGAIN by Camy Tang

  1. “The Thorn Birds” — read it every year. “Pride & Prejudice” “Lolita” “Far from the Madding Crowd”

    Like

  2. I’ve re-read FEW books in my life, but here are some: Chronicles of Narnia, The Secret Garden, Heidi, Peace like a River, Mark of the Lion, Redeeming Love…I’ve just finished The Hunger Games and want to read it again … oh, and I’d like to read They Almost Always Come Home now that I know the ending. I remember the warm fuzzies I got when a reader told me she’d re-read The Familiar Stranger!

    Like

  3. Maureen Lang says:

    There are some books I pick up to revisit when I need inspiration (Enger’s Peace Like a River comes to mind first) and there are some classics I absolutely would re-visit almost to the point of a total re-read, like anything from Thomas Hardy (if enough time has gone by since I read it last). But I guess I don’t re-read many books for the same reason I’m a tried-and-true seat-of-the-pants writer. If I know the ending, I don’t want to spend the time reading the book. I’ll often re-view movies I’ve seen, knowing the ending, so I guess part of it is a time issue. I’m a pretty slow reader, especially of books I’m studying for craft, so I want to read new books to teach me new things. Enjoying something for the first time is such a magical feeling I have a hard time experiencing that to the same degree with something I’ve already read.

    Like

  4. vickihinze says:

    I re-read, but it depends on what I’m needing at the time and where I’ve found it. A lot of it is in nonfiction (Secrets of the Vine) but some fiction too. Little Women is one I’ve read dozens of times. Princess Daisy is another (definitely secular, but a good story of endurance and determination). And Redeeming Love I’ve read probably half a dozen times in the last year. I’m really enjoying some lighter fiction right now (because I’m writing dark so I don’t want to read dark).

    Like

  5. juliearduini says:

    That’s a great question. I’m always looking for an excuse to return to the Little House books. I re read the Potluck Dinner books and the PJ Sugar series. Books like that the characters are like comfy slippers you just want to enjoy again.

    Like

  6. camytang says:

    Kristin–Wow those are almost all books I’ve never read! But I know you’re very widely read, too, so I’m not surprised. 🙂

    Christina–I had a reader tell me that about the Sushi series, too! That was really neat.

    Maureen, that’s a great way to describe it, that first time reading is magical!

    Vicki, I do the same thing where I’ll read something the opposite of what I’m writing!

    Julie, that’s a great way to describe the characters!!!

    Like

  7. bethrachg says:

    My very first post on this blog I wrote about the books that I reread, or plan to read again in the near future. But you introduced me to a book in this post that I’d like to check out–French Women Don’t Get Fat! –Of course, after reading some of the reviews on that, plenty claim that French women do get fat, still, I’d love to be able to eat like the French and get skinny while doing it. 🙂

    Beth Goddard

    Like

  8. camytang says:

    LOL French Women do get fat, but I like the principles in the book a lot. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

