What’s Your Reading Pleasure? by Elizabeth Goddard

I’m so excited to be a part of this new blog. Many thanks to Vicki Hinze who brought us all together. In this world filled with millions of blogs its hard to think of something new and fresh to say. So I dispensed with my effort to say something brilliant today and just went with my heart. I admit, I started out with something else in mind for this post, but a beloved book sitting on the shelf drew my attention and I changed direction.

I recently took a break from reading books from my large to-be-read pile, which, these days includes hundreds of books on my Kindle. I spend so much time reading for review, contests or research, or to see what’s the latest, greatest in the Christian market, that I don’t often get to read for pleasure.

That’s not to say that I haven’t enjoyed the novels I’ve read, but sometimes I’d like to read a book because I want to. Not because I have to. Can you relate?

So what did I pick for my reading pleasure? An oldie but goodie. The Song of Albion Trilogy by Stephen Lawhead—one story spread over three novels: The Paradise War, The Silver Hand, The Endless Knot. The trilogy is set around Anglo-Celtic mythology. This was my second time to read this tale, and like any fiction addict who reads a story they love, I was a little down when it ended. In fact, I prolonged reading the last half of the last book, putting that off for a few days. I didn’t want to leave the story world. Am I pathetic or what?

I love Lawhead’s lyrical prose and thought-provoking nuggets, but especially so in Song of Albion. In case you can’t tell, fantasy is my first love when it comes to fiction genres. However, I’ve strayed far from that over the last several years for reasons I’ve already mentioned.

Thankfully, Lawhead has started a new series (Bright Empires). The Skin Map released last year and I’m about to start on The Bone House, which just released this month. In the fashion only Lawhead can pull off well, the science fiction and fantasy are blended into what he likes to call imaginative fiction, if I remember correctly.

The same day I received The Bone House, I also received Steven James’s latest, The Queen. I purchased The Queen because I read The Bishop—my first experience with James. I have to say, I was impressed.

Maybe I’ll share my thoughts regarding those books next time.

So many books, too little time. So. . .what’s your reading pleasure?

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s Your Reading Pleasure? by Elizabeth Goddard

  1. juliearduini says:

    I’ve read Steven James series, minus The Queen, and I can’t wait. He is a master storyteller. I’m excited for this blog because like you, so much of my reading these days are for many reasons. I love reading for pleasure and telling others. May this blog bless many, just as your post did me.

    Like

  2. June Foster says:

    I’m so glad to see a blog that is devoted to Christian books and ideals. I’m also happy to see my friend Julie Arduini here. June Foster

    Like

  3. vickihinze says:

    Elizabeth, wonderful post–and I feel doubly blessed. I just found a new author to read!

    Vicki

    Like

  4. Sarah Goebel says:

    Elizabeth, thank you for introducing us to Stephen Lawhead and The Song of Albion Trilogy. I love books, fantasy or not, that include thought provoking nuggets. You certainly have made this sound like a great read.

    Like

  5. Sandra Orchard says:

    Congratulations on your launch. It looks like an impressive team of bloggers are lined up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

