Memories

The other day while looking for something in a drawer that I seldom open, I came across an old cassette tape my mother made for my son a few years before she died. I’d forgotten about it around the time cassette players gave way to our digital age, and so I haven’t heard it in years. After looking for an old player that would accommodate the nearly obsolete technology, I slipped in the tape and voila! there was my mother’s voice, a sound I haven’t heard for such a long time.

It was, of course, a bittersweet moment. She had a lovely voice and since this tape was intended for my handicapped son, a child who even then she knew wouldn’t progress past the functional level of a toddler, she sang a variety of lullabies familiar to him. She also told a few stories that I remember her telling to me when I was a child.

I’ve often attributed to my mom my desire to write stories. When I was very young my mother proved that while a lot of wonderful stories come from between the pages of a published book, that’s not the only place they can be found. They all start in someone’s head. Perhaps not surprisingly, my favorite stories were the ones that came from my mother’s imagination. The pictures her words drew in my mind seemed every bit as detailed as the full-color illustrations in books bought in a store.

Ever since then I’ve longed to transfer pictures from my own imagination to others. Discovering the lost tape reminded me why.

One last note about my discovery of this tape. While I was listening to it, my husband was out running an errand. He called to let me know there was a beautiful double rainbow in the sky, so I ran out to see it. I went back inside with a smile, thinking God still sends messages in rainbows. With perfect timing, He was reminding me I’d see my mom again someday.

About Maureen Lang
Author of a dozen novels, Maureen Lang has won the Selah Award, a Holt Medallion, FHL's Reader's Choice Award, and been a finalist in such contests as the Christy, the Rita, the Carol, Book Buyer's Best, and others. Before publication she was the recipient of a Golden Heart and a Genesis (then called the Noble Theme). She resides with her husband and kids in the Chicago area. Titles by Maureen Lang All In Good Time Bees In The Butterfly Garden Springtime Of The Spirit Whisper On The Wind Look To The East My Sister Dilly On Sparrow Hill The Oak Leaves Remember Me Pieces Of Silver

3 Responses to Memories

  1. Vicki Hinze says:

    I loved reading your post, Maureen. For those of us who’ve lost our moms and ache for one more look at them, to once more hear their voice… Wow. What a blessing. And to hear her sing to your son and tell him stories? Oh, but this was a bittersweet moment, and it’s beautiful about the rainbow. A sign, definitely.

    I love how she influenced you in writing–is still influencing. I love that.

  2. tararandel says:

    What a lovely post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48,845 other followers