Grabbing Your Attention by Hannah Alexander

2013-03-26 16.59.27

I’m in learning mode today–hence the extremely late post. I apologize. Typically I like to blog about romance or medicine, but today I’ve been totally consumed with learning how to promote our clinic locally. Though I do find it quite romantic to be working with my husband to build up the patient load of our clinic, it’s also stressful for both of us. Now that the flu season is nearly over, we aren’t getting so many sick patients, and as we’re struggling to keep our clinic afloat, I feel the weight of responsibility. Marketing is my job since I’m the one who markets Hannah Alexander novels.

I’ve discovered, however, that marketing my novels internationally is worlds different from attracting local attention. On the one hand, it’s easy to promote the skills of my husband–I believe he’s the best doctor around. He cares, he’s brilliant and he has over twenty years of experience. Since our patients know this, all I’m doing is asking them to spread the word, and I’m having a contest for a free blood panel to the person who brings in the most patients for us this summer. This test would cost hundreds of dollars if they were to be tested on their own, so I have hopes that this is the right way to promote something I believe in–my husband’s doctoring skills.

On the other hand, marketing my own writing is difficult. I can’t honestly tell you whether or not you will like a Hannah Alexander novel if you buy it and read it. Too many people have so many different tastes. Sure, enough judges have believed in my books in the past to hand out a few awards. Others have left kind reviews beside pictures and descriptions of my books, but those were books in the past. Being a doctor and relying on learned skills and intelligence is different from creating a whole new world and new characters and making them likable enough to continue to draw readers to my pen name time and time again. Still, I continue to love writing, and I have two books releasing back-to-back.

Visit my website http://www.HannahAlexander.com and feel free to read the first chapters of some of my novels. Perhaps this way you’ll be able to decide whether or not you’ll want to find my books at a local store or order a book online. Take a look at Hallowed Halls (I love the cover) and then if you prefer something with a murder mystery, check out Collateral Damage. Both are available, with first chapters ready to read whenever you wish.

Now…time to get back to marketing…no, wait, that’s what I’ve been doing. Maybe it’s time for a nap.

About alexanderhodde
I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.

2 Responses to Grabbing Your Attention by Hannah Alexander

  1. Jackie Smith says:

    Got a gift card for Mother’s Day and already have Hallowed Halls….about to begin reading it! Yeah, I love the cover, too!
    Glad you told us about Collateral Damage coming out…..think I have enough credit to get that one, too…….YAY….love your books and am sure to read them all.
    Best of luck to you and Mel on your new medical practice……patients there are lucky to have you!

  2. Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!࿦

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80,138 other followers

