It’s a Good Thing by Julie Arduini

I’ll never be mistaken for Martha Stewart on several levels, but she has that catch phrase, “It’s a good thing.” Well, there are some good things going on that I thought I would share. Because in full disclosure, I’m dealing with the stomach bug making its way through the family, we’re trying to ready our home for sale, and we’re looking for what we believe God has as our forever home.  These things made me miss my last scheduled post, so I thought I’d pop in and share what I can.

Because I don’t want to tell you that I learned my husband has been called to a business trip to India this year.

Or that I finished cleaning and our puppy flew through the kitchen and left his huge paw tracks everywhere.

So let me share some good things.

  • Last month I signed with Chalfont House. This is the first contract where my name goes on the cover, so pardon me while I do a little dance. Heidi Glick, Elizabeth Maddrey, Kym McNabney, Paula Mowery, Donna Winters and myself are writing a devotional on infertility. This opportunity dropped in my lap and I’m so excited about it. This is the book we wish existed when we were going through our season. None of our stories are the same, and we’re transparent about what our circumstances were, our doctors, the people around us, and more. Yet in these candid stories is hope. Prayers. And God’s Word. These ladies are amazing. Stay tuned.

 

  • I tried an experiment based on reading posts from Michael Hyatt and Jeff Goins. This year I was intentional about building my newsletter list by offering a contemporary romance to subscribers throughout 2014. Match Made in Heaven is a contemporary romance I first penned as a new Christian and a very green writer. I’ve had a blast revising it and sharing with subscribers. The experiment is working. My newsletter list is 4X bigger than it was in January. It’s not massive, but it’s growing. And like Martha says, “It’s a good thing.” My fiction features surrender issues and Upstate NY settings, and I’m proud to showcase Hammondport in this story, part of the Finger Lakes. As for surrender—Beth Prescott needs to let go of her past and comparing herself to others. Dean Kellerman’s stuck on trying to earn forgiveness because his mistakes continue to haunt him. Want to know more? Subscribe for free at http://juliearduini.com right sidebar and watch your inbox for activation.

My friend Holly's post on singleness went viral.

 

  • One of my dearest friends, Holly Hrywnak, recently started blogging. When I’m in Upstate NY we get together and share our struggles, breakthroughs, and I’m constantly encouraging her to write. She has one of the voices that I know God has a huge plan to use, and He is. Last week Holly’s post Forever Alone: The Single Girl Struggle, went viral. Her blog isn’t a year old and that post lit up cyberspace. She nails what I remember feeling as a single person, and what I’ve observed in others. If you know someone who is single, send them to her post. It went viral for a reason. Yep, Martha again. “It’s a good thing.”

There are other things going on that I wish I could share, but this is a good snapshot of what’s going on. And you know, as catchy as Martha’s phrase is, all that’s going on is better than a good thing. You know what it is?

A God thing.

The very best kind, don’t you think?

What God things are going on in your life?

About juliearduini
Julie Arduini is a writer and speaker who uses surrender and chocolate in all that she does. She also writes contemporary romances with Upstate NY settings.

One Response to It’s a Good Thing by Julie Arduini

  1. tararandel says:

    Congratulations on your successes! God is good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80,180 other followers

