A Doctor With A Heart by Hannah Alexander

No, I’m not going to lapse into song about my wonderful husband and our new clinic. That time for promotion has passed, and most folks reading this can’t drive far enough to have Mel check them out, anyway. We live in the boonies of Missouri.

Last week, however,  I searched for and found a doctor in Parsons, KS, who is a dream come true for any patient who has longed for a doctor to  sit and listen to medical burdens, who will never overcharge, will make house calls if the situation is serious, and who truly cares more for his patients than for the bottom line. At first, talking to this man, I had trouble believing him.

But Gary Yarbrough, MD, turned out to be the real thing. He has no overhead because he runs his own office, from answering phones to keeping patient records. He was a great deal of help to me when I asked him about our own clinic, and how we might increase patient load. I discovered he makes house calls for many more than I expected, especially the Amish in his area, who would have to ride horse and buggy through snow or heat to get to his office. He drives his PT Cruiser to them. He works with midwives and treats them with respect, and he keeps up with his beloved patients over the years. Like us, he keeps his business a cash-only set-up so he can pass along his savings to his patients.

After he asked me if I worked in the clinic with Mel, I explained that I’m not much practical help for Mel because I’m a novelist. That brightened Gary up. He, himself, has written a delightful book of stories about working with Amish and English alike, and he gives quite a good insight into the lives of the Amish without, of course, betraying patient confidentiality. If you think you might want to read some of his very well written vignettes about his experiences as a country doctor, check out his novel. I’ve tried to transfer a link to his Kindle Ebook titled House Calls by Gary Yarbrough. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=House+Calls+by+Gary+Yarbrough

I know, I’ve tried and possibly failed, but it would be worth your while to find and read the book if you want to read an inspiring book written by an inspiring human being.

If you do happen to read the book and enjoy it, please take the time to write a review. He’s a newbie in the writing business, and he could use as much support as he gives to his patients.

About alexanderhodde
I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.

One Response to A Doctor With A Heart by Hannah Alexander

  1. fantastic points altogether, you just received a new reader.
    What could you suggest in regards to your post that you made a few days in the past?
    Any certain?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,156 other followers

