NaNoWriMo!!!!!!

Camy here! Today is the first day of NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month. This month, thousands of people are committing to spending the next month trying to write 50,000 words on their own novels.

I’ve loved NaNoWriMo, because it’s fun to be part of a huge community all aimed at a common goal. It has also helped me to focus on finishing a manuscript I might have a deadline for.

This year, I’m again working on a contracted manuscript, the 22nd book in the Miracles of Marble Cove series with Guideposts. I love writing for Guideposts because the series ideas are so appealing and make me feel good about life, and the mysteries are always a bit unusual but never graphic or distasteful.

For Miracles of Marble Cove, it’s women’s fiction with a very light mystery thread running through each of the books. It’s about four women who are neighbors in a small coastal town in Maine who form a close friendship despite differences in age and home situations. I love each of these women I’m writing about and feel almost like they’re my friends, too.

Anyway, I’m excited to start on the book today!

Anyone else want to join me? You don’t have to be a writer to try the NaNoWriMo challenge–just anyone who has ever hankered after writing a book “someday.” The website is NaNoWriMo.org.

A good book about preparing for NaNoWriMo–both the writing prep but also the home life prep–is No Plot? No Problem! by Chris Baty, who started NaNoWriMo with his friends. It’s a pretty entertaining book to read even if you don’t want to write one. :)

So who’s doing NaNoWriMo this year? Weigh in and tell me about your book!

About camytang
Camy Tang writes romantic suspense under her real name and Regency romance under her pen name, Camille Elliot. Her first Regency, PRELUDE FOR A LORD, released August 2014. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her website at http://www.camytang.com/ to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.

11 Responses to NaNoWriMo!!!!!!

  1. sarahssundry says:

    I hope to join in next year Camy! For this year however, consider me in your corner cheering you on! Best of luck! :D You go girl!

  2. C. C. Gevry says:

    I’m playing NaNoWriMo cheerleader this year. I’ll be busy with Picture Book Idea Month instead. Good luck!

  3. Pingback: NaNoWriMo « Romancing the Bee

  4. I am in, Camy! One day down, 29 to go! I do hope to finish prior to November 30, although my last go around with Nano, I needed every day! Good luck!

  5. Susan F. says:

    If you want to ask anything about Maine, I’m here for you. :) My Nano project is based in Maine too. I’m having a slow start but I will have more time once election day is over.

  6. Hazel A. Witherspoon says:

    Decided to do the 5oK this year but Sandi is putting a kink in my plans – here in Central Jersey – day six with no power. Decided I will do it old school on lega pasd until I can get to a computer for extended periods of time. Camy – good luck on your endeavour.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48,567 other followers