Book Hoarders ‘R’ Us by Elizabeth Goddard

This month I moved from Texas to Louisiana.

Without my bookshelves.

They were built-in shelves, so couldn’t be moved. That was a bad decision from the start.

I have a lot of books. You’re probably a book lover, too, or you wouldn’t be reading this right now. So you understand what I’m saying, right? You can picture the utter chaos. Feel the overwhelming anxiety right along with me.

Moving has a way of opening a person’s eyes to the fact that they’re a hoarder.  I’m facing the music, er, books right now.

I have boxes and boxes of books with no place to go. I’ve donated some to the church library. Of course, I could buy some more shelves. But I’m taking my time and looking for new ways to shelve my books.  Browsing the web, I’ve discovered a lot of creative ideas.

Maybe I could just stack them against the wall or use crates. Or hang them in a specially designed macrame “shelf.” I’m open to suggestions.

Picture frame bookshelves (Avant-garde baroque style metal bookshelves
Graham and Green)

Glass enclosed bookshelves

Guitar bookshelves

10 Responses to Book Hoarders ‘R’ Us by Elizabeth Goddard

  1. my name is amanda kirby i am a new author i would like to share my book with you it is called

    The Hopes Heartaches and Dreams of A YOung Woman’s Soul

    i hope you will follow me in my first adventure as a blogger

  2. Maureen Lang says:

    I can so relate to your post, Beth! Most of my books are shelved in built-in shelves so when we move (which won’t be for several more years, thank goodness!) I’ll be facing the same thing. I know I’ll have to get rid of some – I try, every now and then, to go through the ones I have but I end up giving away only a piddly stack, if that. I can’t even get my shelves to look nice and neat because I’m stuffing in as many books as will fit. It’s times like these when e-books are so appealing to me, but even though I have many of those, too, I just can’t bear to part with the real tree-books that I have. Especially books by friends, and research books!

    Bottom line: I have no advice for your dilemma, since I’m obviously in as much need of an intervention as you are. :-)

  3. Tanya Dennis says:

    We’ve been in our house for two years. I still have at least four, maybe five boxes of books yet to be unpacked. The plan was to build shelves in the basement, but as with all “new” houses, priorities change once you move in and find all the things you didn’t see before signing that contract. Floors need to be redone, plumbing fixed … and the bookshelves wait. Eventually!

    In the meantime, I’d LOVE a link for where to buy those picture frame shelves. Those are fantastic!

  4. I love those bookshelves you can put together yourself (okay, I can’t do it, but Mel can) with glass on the front. Makes for dustless books. Then all you have to do is clean the glass!
    Hannah Alexander

  5. michellestimpson1 says:

    I love stuffed bookshelves – they make me feel smart (just like being in a coffeehouse does).

  6. Beth Goddard says:

    Here’s a link to another great idea that I really love: http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/bookshelves-from-crates-73525

  7. You moved? Hope you’ll be very happy. I love Louisiana’s food and history, especially in New Orleans.
    I share your bookshelf problems. I’m going to have to hire a cabinetmaker to come in and build matching shelves around my hutches and shelves, I guess.

  8. juliearduini says:

    I give a lot of my books away but when I’m on Pinterest, I drool at the bookshelf images. If my house were bigger, I’d have a library and pray we never had to move. I pray your transition goes well and that you come up with a creative plan for your books.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,007 other followers

