Summer Reading

With eighteen days of school left, everyone in the household has summer in mind. Lemonade packets face front in our cupboards and the hot chocolate hibernates in the back. My husband plans to drain the pool cover and ready things for another swimming season.

Which for me, means summer reading.

It’s hard for me to write when the kids are swimming because it’s hard to see the laptop screen. I also can lose myself in the process and forget I’m outside for a reason, and it could mean life and death if I’m not paying attention. I’m also not a millionaire, so I don’t want to take the chance of a big splash fest short circuiting my laptop and my labor of love. Not my kids, my contemporary romance. :)

 

 
Summer reading Pictures, Images and Photos

So reading it is. My question for everyone is, do your reading habits change in the summer?

Do you read more?

Less?

Traditional books?

E-readers?

Here’s another question that’s made for good discussion with my friends. Does the quality of your reading change in the summer? For instance, when I went on vacation earlier this year, I saw a lot of what my senior citizen friends call “bodice ripper” covers. They were steamy romance looking covers that women admitted was light reading they preferred on vacation. Once home, it was back to more academic reads.

Is that true for you? Perhaps during the “school” year your reading consists of biographies and other non fiction work, but for the summer, you want some good fiction to take your mind off things, or at least take you somewhere else that you can’t afford for a real vacation.

Me? I mix it up throughout the year. When I cruised, my lounge chair was stacked with writing how-to books, intercessory prayer reads, and free fiction I downloaded for my Kindle.

I’d love to hear about your summer reading plans. Share with me a particular author or title you want to read, too.

By the way, I recommend subscribing to Empowering Christian Women. Karla does a great job letting readers know about free Christian reads for Kindle. Remember to double check the price, as that changes without notice. Keiki also has a site full of E-reader finds at Vessel Project.

Writer and Speaker

Surrendering the good, the bad, and—maybe one day—the chocolate

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus Page pinterest

photobucket image

About juliearduini
Julie Arduini is a writer and speaker who uses surrender and chocolate in all that she does. She also writes contemporary romances with Upstate NY settings.

4 Responses to Summer Reading

  1. Heather H. says:

    I’m a children’s librarian so my summer’s are all about reading-or other people’s reading to be more accurate. :-) My go-to recommendations when someone asks me for a good book are Dee Henderson, Terri Blackstock, Hannah Alexander and Jerry B. Jenkins.
    I’m anticipating the release of Camy Tang’s new book “A Dangerous Stage” and later in the fall “Full Disclosure” by Dee Henderson.
    Julie, I still use pen and paper a lot when I write. Maybe you can add a notebook and pen beside the lounge chair stash. I also read a rough draft on my Kindle.
    Maybe I’m a little biased as a librarian but I still prefer spending my money on a physical copy of a book. I do love my ereader (especially when I can score top quality ebooks for free!) :-)

    • Heather,
      I love your reading taste. Mine is exactly the same. I also keep an eye on Susan May Warren’s release schedule and last year I got my hands on Irene Hannon’s work and love it. Like you, I love a physical book the best, but I can’t pass up the free Kindle reads.

      I love your job, and I hope you have a beautiful summer reading experience! I appreciate you stopping by and reading today.

      • Heather H. says:

        Okay Julie, I’m a little scared. We are totally on the same wave length because I also mentioned Susan May Warren and Irene Hannon in my first comment. But if I listed all the authors I adore, I’d never have gotten to work on time. :-) Our library doesn’t have any Irene Hannon books and after I read your post I was just thinking that I should donate my copies of the Heroes of Quantico series. That series is a great read-a-like for fans of Dee Henderson. And they should come with an “Up All Night” warning. I really love SMW’s Deep Haven series. I’m so glad to see new titles being adding to the series. They are quirky, fun and authentic. A great “chic lit” read but still well written!

  2. Heather, as a library patron, I love when great books like the Heroes of Quantico series are donated! Have you read Brandilyn Collins or Steven James? They are also “Up all Night/Scared all the Time” experiences, but so worth it. If you’re on social media, find me through the tabs at the end of the post. I talk reading all the time there and would love to connect.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,017 other followers

