Two Night in Paris

 

Watching the Academy Awards Sunday night introduced me to two movies I hadn’t considered watching. I couldn’t have been more surprised by Midnight in Paris. For some reason when I saw Owen Wilson on the movie case cover, I thought the movie was about something completely differently. I was pleasantly surprised that Owen played a screenwriter who wanted to write a novel set in the past, or what he considered a Golden Era, the 1920’s. Wouldn’t you know it—at midnight he ends up transported back in time where he meets with writers and authors he idolizes– Zelda, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway and Gertrude Stein.

Every night at midnight he visits his friends in the past and eventually falls in love with a girl there. Together they end up traveling back in time to the 1890’s where they meet Edgar Degas, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, and Paul Gauguin who believe the Renaissance is the greatest era. I loved watching how actors depicted the various artists and writers and how eccentric they were.

The next night we watched Hugo—another story that took place in Paris. I won’t go into details about this movie other than to say it involves a boy who lives alone and is searching for answers to a mystery regarding his father and a forgotten film-maker

I enjoyed both movies for different reasons, of course, but then I wondered what’s up with these two award-winning movies set in Paris? Of course, the city lends itself to romance, art and creativity. Maybe I should spend some time there myself.

Do you have a favorite era and if so, who were the famous and eccentric writers and artists of that time? Who are you favorites?

One Response to Two Night in Paris

  1. juliearduini says:

    Wow, I’m glad you wrote about this. I confess I equate Owen Wilson with goofy movies, but this sounds profound. I think I like the Big Band/WWII era.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80,207 other followers

