First Reads Can Change a Life by Elizabeth Goddard

Have you ever thought back to the first book you read  that started your love affair with books?

I’m at mom’s today because it’s her birthday, and I asked her this question. She was quick with her answer because she well remembered the book.

Yankee Stranger by Elswyth Thane

Or maybe  you remember a book that hooked you on a genre or type of story you’ve never read before. You enjoyed it so much you decided to read everything  written by that author or  maybe you even explored more books in that genre.

Recently I started thinking back to specific books that caught my interest and sent me into a new world–the next thing you know I’m a huge science fiction fan. Or a huge historical romance fan.

The first Christian novel I ever read was Vienna Prelude, the Zion Covenant series, by Bodie and Brock Thoene.  You know the one? I remember the exact day or two of reading that novel.  I read while having a garage sale at Mom and Dad’s house so I could pay my electric bill. Hey, I was in college or had just graduated, and could barely make it on my own. Selling my dresser and night stand seemed like a good idea at the time.  But this is all off topic. My point is that I remember the exact moment in time that I spent reading this novel.

I’ve been an avid reader since early childhood and Vienna Prelude was my first foray into Christian fiction. Wow.  I gobbled up the sequels as quickly as I could, and I don’t think I ever looked back. I was hooked on Christian fiction. Sure I read secular novel at times, but I love stories written from a Christian worldview. Stories that I don’t have to skim pages in order to guard my eyes and my heart.

And in reading that novel, I couldn’t have known what the future held for me—that one day Bodie Thoene herself would say a pray for me, blessing me in my endeavors. I couldn’t have known that one day I, too, would write Christian novels.

Now I share Christian novels with people who have never read one, and people who don’t even read novels. To see them getting hooked is definitely a thrill.

Change a life. Share a Christian novel.

2 Responses to First Reads Can Change a Life by Elizabeth Goddard

  1. Linda says:

    I remember my first Christian novel…Love Comes Softly by Janette Oke. It’s been a love affair with Christian books ever since.

  2. bethrachg says:

    When did you first read that, Linda? I read Vienna Prelude first sometime in the early eighties.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,156 other followers

